Liquigas 2008 team launch

Team Liquigas announced 29 riders for the 2008 season, with the team going into the new year full of confidence after a strong 2007 season, culminating with the team finishng second in the ProTour team classification.

President of Liquigas Sport, Paolo Dal Lago says: "It won't be easy to repeat the success of 2007, but we will not rest on our laurels."

29 riders from twelve countries make up the team. The new roster is notable for the absence of 2007 Giro d'Italia champion Danilo Di Luca, but joining Filippo Pozzato, Franco Pellizotti, Leonardo Bertagnolli and Vincenzo Nibali will be new captain Daniele Bennati.

The super-fast sprinter won two stages of the 2007 Tour de France and three at the Vuelta a EspaƱa.