British Cycling have announced a 23-rider Great Britain team, including reserves, for the 2008 UCI Track Cycling World Championships, which are to be held in Manchester from the 26th – 30th March. This will be the third time in twelve years that the Championships have been held at the recently re-laid Manchester Velodrome (previously 1996 and 2000).

In 2007 the team won an unprecedented seven gold medals at the World Championships, with Victoria Pendleton taking three (Sprint, Keirin & Team Sprint) and Chris Hoy (Keirin & Kilo) and Bradley Wiggins (Team Pursuit & Individual Pursuit) two apiece. These three riders are at the heart of a team which features a number of riders under the age of 20.

Dave Brailsford, Performance Director of the GB Cycling Team said: “This team is an exciting mix of experienced World Champions and talented young riders who are breaking through. It will be a special championships for everyone in the team: not only is it the last major event before the Beijing Olympics; it is also taking place on our home track in Manchester, where we will be able to count great crowd support."


Lizzie Armitstead

Anna Blyth

Steve Burke

Mark Cavendish

Ed Clancy

Matt Crampton

Kate Cullen

Steve Cummings

David Daniell

Ross Edgar

Rob Hayles

Wendy Houvenaghel

Chris Hoy

Jason Kenny

Paul Manning

Vicky Pendleton

Shanaze Reade

Rebecca Romero

Jo Rowsell

Jamie Staff

Geraint Thomas

Jessica Varnish

Bradley Wiggins