Olympic cycling champion Chris Hoy rattled off just one more gong for his now-groaning mantelpiece when the 32-year-old Edinburgh born cyclist was awarded a Knighthood in the 2009 New Year honours List.

And it’s not just Hoy who has been honoured; 18 of Hoy’s fellow British athletes, who also won medals in cycling during the 2008 Olympic and Paralympic Games, have received recognition of their achievements.

Bradley Wiggins, a double gold medal winner at the Beijing Olympics, and David Brailsford, British Cycling Performance Director, have both been made Commanders of the Order of the British Empire (CBE).

"It’s incredible and I’m absolutely delighted," said Hoy. “I still can’t quite believe it to be honest. To be given a Knighthood is an enormous honour and it means so much to me and also to my family. I was stunned when I first found out and the news is still sinking in. I’m not sure if I will ever get used to people calling me Sir Chris!"

Brailsford added: "I’m so proud of what everyone in the GB Team has achieved and it is such a privilege to be honoured in this way. 2009 marks 50 years since British Cycling was established and this is a remarkable way to start the organisation’s Golden Anniversary year."

The full list of honours

Chris Hoy - Sir (KBE) Bradley Wiggins - CBE
Victoria Pendleton - MBE
Rebecca Romero - MBE
Jason Kenny- MBE
Jamie Staff - MBE
Ed Clancy - MBE
Paul Manning - MBE
Nicole Cooke - MBE
Geraint Thomas - MBE

Darren Kenny - OBE
Sarah Storey - OBE
Aileen McGlynn - OBE
Jody Cundy - MBE
Barney Storey - MBE
David Stone - MBE
Anthony Kappes - MBE
Mark Bristow - MBE
Simon Richardson - MBE

David Brailsford - CBE