Eight summit finishes and two individual time trials feature on the route for the 2018 Giro d’Italia, where Chris Froome will look to seal an historic Grand Tour hat-trick.

Froome’s announcement that he would target next year’s Giro came on the day the race’s full route was announced, with climbs including Mount Etna, Monte Zoncolan and the Colle delle Finestre in store next year.

The race will roll out in Jerusalem – the first Grand Tour ever to start outside Europe – as had already been announced, on Friday May 4, 2018 and finishes in Rome on Sunday May 27.

Giro d'Italia 2018 route map, pic - RCS Sport

Giro d'Italia 2018 route map, pic - RCS Sport

Kicking off with a 9.7km time trial in Jerusalem West, the technical course will determine the first rider of the 101st Giro d’Italia to wear the maglia rosa, before two stages expected to favour the sprinters, finishing in Tel Aviv and Eilat.

The race then transfers to Sicily on the first race day, before a 191km stage to Caltagirone, with a short uphill finish, while stage six will mark the first proper summit finish – atop Mount Etna, at the Astrophysical Observatory.

A flat transitional stage follows before a challenging weekend, with finishes on the Montevergine di Mercogliano and at Campo Imperatore – the latter marking a 45km climb to conclude a 224km stage.

Following the second rest day is another fiercely long, undulating stage – 239km in all – before a testing, undulating stage from Assisi to Osimo, dedicated to Michele Scarponi.

Two more sprint stages follow, including a finish on the Imola motorsport circuit and a trip through many of Italy’s significant WWI sites.

The Zoncolan is next on the cards, concluding the climb-heavy stage 14 on Saturday May 19 and to be climbed from the toughest Ovaro side.

Four more climbs the following day, in the Dolomites, ensures there is little let up before the final rest day.

The final week will kick off with a 34.5km individual time trial, on a virtually-flat route designed to favour the powerhouses of the peloton.

Another relatively flat stage in Italy’s wine region follows, before the mountains return with a vengeance as the peloton hits the Alps.

The Cima Coppi – the highest climb of the race – is the Colle delle Finestre, complete with 9km gravel sector, on stage 19, while stage 20 covers 4,500m of elevation across just three climbs.

Finally, the race will head to Rome to take in ten laps of the 11.8km finishing circuit around the city.

Giro d'Italia 2018: route

Friday May 4 – stage one: West Jerusalem, 9.7km individual time trial

Saturday May 5 – stage two: Haifa to Tel Aviv, 167km

Sunday May 6 – stage three: Be’er Sheva to Eilat, 229km

Monday May 7: rest day one

Tuesday May 8 – stage four: Catania to Caltagirone, 191km

Wednesday May 9 – stage five: Agrigento to Santa Ninfa, 152km

Thursday May 10 – stage six: Caltanissetta to Mount Etna, 163km

Friday May 11 – stage seven: Pizzo to Praia a Mare, 159km

Saturday May 12 – stage eight: Praia a Mare to Montevergine di Mercogliano, 208km

Sunday May 13 – stage nine: Pesco Sannita to Gran Sasso d’Italia, 224km

Monday May 14: rest day two

Tuesday May 15 – stage ten: Penne to Gualdo Tadino, 239km

Wednesday May 16 – stage 11: Assisi to Osimo, 156km

Thursday May 17 – stage 12: Osimo to Imola, 213km

Friday May 18 – stage 13: Ferrara to Nervesa della Battaglia, 180km

Saturday May 19 – stage 14: San Vito al Tagliamento to Monte Zoncolan, 181km

Sunday May 20 – stage 15: Tolmezzo to Sappada, 176km

Monday May 21: rest day three

Tuesday May 22 – stage 16: Trento to Rovereto, 34.5km individual time trial

Wednesday May 23 – stage 17: Riva del Garda to Iseo, 155km

Thursday May 24 – stage 18: Abbiategrasso to Prato Nevoso, 196km

Friday May 25 – stage 19: Venaria Reale to Bardonecchia, 181km

Saturday May 26 – stage 20: Susa to Cervinia, 214km

Sunday May 27 – stage 21: Rome to Rome, 118km