Racing returns to Crystal Palace - Road Cycling UK

Expert road bike reviews and the latest road bike news, features and advice. Find rides & events, training articles and participate in our forums


Event News

Racing returns to Crystal Palace

Guy Andrews leading eventual winner Bret Perez – image (C) London Cycle Sport

A four-year break in racing at Crystal Palace finally drew to an end yesterday when a small but select group of riders rolled out onto the circuit, their hosts the Dulwich Primavera. It was the first of weekly all-category races that will run until the end of August.

The race had looked in jeopardy for a time after the rain that battered London throughout much of yesterday afternoon, but enthusiasm for the race eventually overcame the threatening clouds. London Cycle Sport were there and this is how they reported the re-opening race:

“Riding very much to the conditions, the riders rode the opening laps with
care. With just 3 laps done, Bret Perez (Freerider RT) and Guy Andrews
(London Dynamo) made the first break at the ‘new Palace’. Justin Clarke
(Pacific RT) bridged the gap on the next lap and the three soon built a 20
second gap to Bryan Taylor (VC Londres) and Stuart Hicks (Catford CC).

Falling back one lap were a gaggle of riders who competed for position on
the road until the line.

The lead three extended the lead to 50 seconds, and Clarke had a good go at
breaking free, but to no avail and made the other two suffer on the hill
leading onto the finish straight.

The three came out of the final turn together on the final lap and Perez
attacked first and did enough to keep ahead of Clarke and Andrews.

Hicks jumped Taylor on the line to place 4th.”

Weekly racing for all categories continues from now until August 31st, with entry on the line only. The youth race at 6.30pm and the seniors at 7.17pm, though that might be supposed to be 7.15.

For more information, or if you or your club can help out with marshalling, contact Eddie Wingrave on 020 8670 1933.

For regular weekly results see

Full results


1 Bret Perez Freerider RT
2 Justin Clarke Pacific RT
3 Guy Andrews London Dynamo
4 Stuart Hicks Catford CC @50 seconds
5 Bryan Taylor VC Londres
6 Nick Stacey VC Londres Junior @ 1 lap
7 Phil Burnett Mosquito Bikes
8 Richard Tully Anerley
9 Sean Aberdighbe Brixton Cycles
10 Ramaro Servaro Edwardes

1 Alex Aldham Breary Ciclos Uno
2 Simon Lewis VC Londres

Under 12s
1 Euan Cattermole VC Londres


Newsletter Terms & Conditions

Please enter your email so we can keep you updated with news, features and the latest offers. If you are not interested you can unsubscribe at any time. We will never sell your data and you'll only get messages from us and our partners whose products and services we think you'll enjoy.

Read our full Privacy Policy as well as Terms & Conditions.