Racing News

British Cycling academy intake announced

The Manchester Velodrome is home to British Cycling (pic: British Cycling)

British Cycling has announced the 25 riders for its 2010/11 Olympic Academy Programme.

Among this year’s intake are Commonwealth Games medalists David Daniell, silver medalist in the Keirin, and Becky James, sprint silver medalist and time trial bronze medalist.

“Our under-23 squad continues to strengthen and this year Alex Dowsett and Lucy Martin have both been signed up to professional road teams for next season,” said performance manager Shane Sutton.

“We’ve also got an interesting situation on the women’s endurance programme with all the girls now being focused on the endurance track events rather than the road.

“The three academy girls will be coached by Paul Manning, with Simon Cope becoming more involved in the training programme for our women’s podium endurance athletes and also working closely with the Olympic Development Programme female endurance riders in bringing them up to the high standard of performance that the academy requires.”

Full intake

Men’s Endurance – Road and Track:

George Atkins
Mark Christian
Andy Fenn
Sam Harrison
Tom Moses
Jon Mould
Luke Rowe
Simon Yates

Women’s Endurance – Track:

Katie Colclough
Hannah Mayho
Laura Trott

Mountain Bike:

David Fletcher
Kenta Gallagher
Steve James
Annie Last
Lily Mathews


David Daniell
Kian Emadi
Philip Hindes
Becky James
Pete Mitchell
Lewis Oliva
Callum Skinner
Jess Varnish

Newsletter Terms & Conditions

Please enter your email so we can keep you updated with news, features and the latest offers. If you are not interested you can unsubscribe at any time. We will never sell your data and you'll only get messages from us and our partners whose products and services we think you'll enjoy.

Read our full Privacy Policy as well as Terms & Conditions.