GB Juniors on fire - Road Cycling UK

Expert road bike reviews and the latest road bike news, features and advice. Find rides & events, training articles and participate in our forums


Racing News

GB Juniors on fire

This from British Cycling

Great Britain’s Junior Track cycling team returned from the World Championships in Belgium with a record haul of medals and the accolade of being the top nation at the event.

The four day Championships were held in Gent, Belgium (August 5-8). The GB Team arrived at the championships with high hopes following their most successful ever European Championships, just a couple of weeks before and in Belgium, all expectations were exceeded as the team collected ten medals, five of them gold.

Star performer was 18 year old sprinter Jason Kenny from Bolton who picked up three golds, winning the Sprint and Keirin and sharing in the Team Sprint gold with Christian Lyte and David Daniell. GB’s top female sprinter Anna Blyth was also in outstanding form, winning the Keirin and finishing runner-up in the Sprint. Endurance rider Peter Kennaugh, from the Isle of Man was also a multi medal winner, collecting a gold in the Scratch Race and a bronze as part of the Team Pursuit quartet.

The GB Team’s Performance Director, Dave Brailsford, was understandably pleased with the success of the team: “The team performed superbly in Belgium. The performances are a credit to the riders and to the support staff who work with them. We only launched our junior programme 18 months ago and as recently as 2002 we only sent two riders to the championships and came away without a medal. So, to be the number one nation at this year’s World Championships is some going, I think!”

Speaking after her Keirin win, Anna Blyth gave credit to the system which has helped her achieve her success: “We have had training camps during the school holidays and coach-led weekends each month. Now we go to races with a lot of experience of tactics to use. A lot of us also go to senior squad sessions when we can. I have also had a good programme of conditioning training.”

Team Medal Winners


Team Sprint: (Christian Lyte, Jason Kenny, David Daniell)
Keirin: Jason Kenny
Scratch: Peter Kennaugh
Sprint: Anna Blyth
Sprint: Jason Kenny


Kilo: Christian Lyte
Points: Jonny Bellis
Sprint: Anna Blyth


Kilo: David Daniell
Team Pursuit: Alex Dowsett, Jonny Bellis, Steven Burke and Peter Kennaugh.

Links/more info:

  • Rider Biographies: here
  • Coverage of the Championships: here

  • Share

    Newsletter Terms & Conditions

    Please enter your email so we can keep you updated with news, features and the latest offers. If you are not interested you can unsubscribe at any time. We will never sell your data and you'll only get messages from us and our partners whose products and services we think you'll enjoy.

    Read our full Privacy Policy as well as Terms & Conditions.