Racing News

Katusha miss out on 2013 WorldTour licence

Katusha have missed out on a UCI WorldTour licence for 2013 – despite having the world’s number one ranked rider in Joaquim Rodriguez.

Joaquim Rodriguez topped the UCI’s WorldTour rider rankings after a prolific 2012 season

The Russian super team, who finished second in the WorldTour teams standings in 2012, have been replaced by Argos-Shimano, who rode as a UCI Pro Continental squad in 2012.

“The request from the team Katusha for registration in first division has been rejected,” read a UCI statement.

“In accordance with UCI regulations, this team’s application has been forwarded to the UCI administration, so that the latter may assess the possibility of registering this team as a UCI Professional Continental Team.”

Rodriguez finished top of the UCI WorldTour rider rankings after a 2012 season which saw the Spaniard win La Fleche Wallonne, two stages of the Giro d’Italia and the points jersey, three stages of the Vuelta a Espana en-route to finishing third overall, and the Giro di Lombardia.

Four teams were waiting to hear which three would receive a WorldTour licence, with either Argos-Shimano or Alberto Contador’s SaxoBank-Tinkoff expected to miss out.

But both teams made the final cut and now Katusha will need wildcard invitations to take part in a number of races, including the Tour de France, Giro d’Italia and Vuelta a Espana.

WorldTour licenses are issued by an independent licence commission, with decisions based on sporting, ethical, administrative and financial criteria. The UCI are yet to confirm why Katusha missed out on a licence in cycling’s top division.

Discuss on the forum

WorldTour teams for 2013 season

Current licence holders approved on November 2
Astana Pro Team
BMC Racing Team
Omega Pharma–QuickStep
Team Sky
Movistar Team (UCI decision on November 16)

Licences issued following licence commission hearings in November/December
AG2R La Mondiale (2013-2016)
Euskaltel Euskadi (2013-2016)
Former Rabobank (2013-2014)
Garmin Sharp (2013-2014)
Team Argos–Shimano (2013-2016)
Team Saxo – Tinkoff (2013-2014)

Additional licences issued for 2013
Lotto Belisol

Newsletter Terms & Conditions

Please enter your email so we can keep you updated with news, features and the latest offers. If you are not interested you can unsubscribe at any time. We will never sell your data and you'll only get messages from us and our partners whose products and services we think you'll enjoy.

Read our full Privacy Policy as well as Terms & Conditions.