London Women's Cycle Racing League dates announced - Road Cycling UK

Expert road bike reviews and the latest road bike news, features and advice. Find rides & events, training articles and participate in our forums


Racing News

London Women's Cycle Racing League dates announced

Make your first step into racing

The London Women’s Cycle Racing League has announced its 2011 schedule.

Following the success of its debut year in 2010, LWCR, which is designed for all riders, from beginner to elite, has announced a second series in the capital and south east.

The series kicks off at the Hog Hill circuit in east London on April 9 before concluding 11 dates later with the final Crystal Palace Summer Evening Series race on August 9. 

New to the league this year is the inclusion of pre-season open club ‘Meet and Greet Rides’ where female cyclists can meet experienced female racers and find out more about women’s cycling in London. Details and dates will be announced on the LWCR website.

Women cyclists can affiliate to the league via their clubs or as individuals, also via the LWCR website.

 “The league came about as a way of encouraging more women to take up cycle racing locally in a friendly environment,” said co-ordinator Maria David.

“This will encourage more women to take up cycling and feeds into British Cycling’s plans to get women out on their bikes.

“As well as competing, it gives female cyclists the opportunity to meet like-minded women. We want racing to be fast and furious, but also fun and sociable.”

Last year’s league winner Maryka Sennema added: “Signing up for your first cycle race can seem intimidating, but in truth the race itself is such an exhilarating experience it’s well worth the effort.

“The most nerve-wracking part is lining up at the start with all the other riders, but once the race begins, all the nerves are forgotten and you’re in the thick of it.

“I’d encourage any women who enjoy road cycling to give it a try, and the London Women’s Cycle Racing League is a great place to start.”

Series Dates

April 9: East London Velo Spring Rumble, Hog Hill, Hainault

April 20: Team Quest Women’s Series, Hillingdon

May 8: Surrey League/Dulwich Paragon, Goodwood

May 10: Crystal Palace Summer Evening Series

May 21: SE Regional Champs, Loxwood, Sussex

June 2: Hog Hill Summer Evening Series, Hog Hill, Hainault

June 11: Smithfield Nocturne, London

June 26: London Dynamo Time Trial, Richmond Park

July 2: Inverse Racing Criterium, Hillingdon

July 31: Surrey League/London Phoenix Road Race, Henfold Hill, Surrey

August 9: Crystal Palace Summer Evening Series


Newsletter Terms & Conditions

Please enter your email so we can keep you updated with news, features and the latest offers. If you are not interested you can unsubscribe at any time. We will never sell your data and you'll only get messages from us and our partners whose products and services we think you'll enjoy.

Read our full Privacy Policy as well as Terms & Conditions.