Racing News

Paris-Nice 2013: stage one – report

French national champion Nacer Bouhanni (FDJ) outpaced Alessandro Petacchi (Lampre-Merida) to win stage one of Paris-Nice and move into the overall lead.

The 22-year-old claimed his second victory of the season, having previously won a stage of the Tour of Oman, after edging out Petacchi and Elia Viviani (Cannondale Pro Cycling) at the end of the 195km stage from Saint-Germain-en-Laye to Nemours.

Bouhanni, who finished 52rd in the opening prologue, now leads the race thanks to a ten-second time bonus and paid tribute to his team-mates after securing victory.

“I was already delighted to have won the last stage in the Tour of Oman but I hadn’t raced since and I was not sure what my condition was,” he said. “I’m above all delighted for the team as they did a hell of a job.”

Romain Sicard (Euskaltel-Euskadi), Bertjan Lindeman (Vacansoleil-DCM) and Yannick Talabardon (Sojasun) formed the day’s break but the trio were reeled in with 20km remaining.

That setup the bunch sprint but a significant group of riders, including fast men Tom Boonen (Omega Pharma-QuickStep) and Marcel Kittel (Argos-Shimano), were distanced after the peloton split in crosswinds, leaving Bouhanni to take top honours.

“In the finale, I didn’t care too much about what was happening behind with Boonen or Kittel,” added Bouhanni. “I was focused on my sprint.

“I’m all the happier as this is my first Paris-Nice and it’s extraordinary to win the first stage with the French champion’s jersey on.

“We’ll keep fighting in the next few stages. The second and third [stages] are ideal for sprinters so obviously they are goals. As for the yellow jersey, it should stay on the back of a sprinter, so it should be OK.”

Stage two will see the peloton tackle a 200.5km route from Vimory to Cerilly.

Paris-Nice 2013 – stage one – result

1) Nacer Bouhanni (FRA) – FDJ 4:47:24 hours
2) Alessandro Petacchi (ITA) – Lampre-Merida – same time
3) Elia Viviani (ITA) – Cannondale Pro Cycling
4) Jens Debusschere (BEL) Lotto-Belisol
5) Heinrich Haussler (AUS) – IAM Cycling
6) Mark Renshaw (AUS) – Blanco Pro Cycling
7) Jose Joaquin Rojas (SPA) – Movistar
8) Leigh Howard (AUS) – Orica-GreenEDGE
9) Borut Bozic (SLO) – Astana
10) Romain Feillu (FRA) – Vacansoleil-DCM

General classification

1) Nacer Bouhanni (FRA) – FDJ – 4:51:01 hours
2) Damien Gaudin (FRA) – Europcar – same time
3) Sylvain Chavanel (FRA) – Omega Pharma-QuickStep +1″
4) Lieuwe Westra (NED) – Vacansoleil-DCM – same time
5) Elia Viviani (ITA) – Cannondale Pro Cycling
6) Alessandro Petacchi (ITA) – Lampre-Merida +2″
7) Wilco Kelderman (NED) – Blanco Pro Cycling – same time
8) Geoffrey Soupe (FRA) – FDJ
9) Peter Velits (SVK) – Omega Pharma-QuickStep +3″
10) Tony Gallopin (FRA) – RadioShack-Leopard – same time


Newsletter Terms & Conditions

Please enter your email so we can keep you updated with news, features and the latest offers. If you are not interested you can unsubscribe at any time. We will never sell your data and you'll only get messages from us and our partners whose products and services we think you'll enjoy.

Read our full Privacy Policy as well as Terms & Conditions.