Racing round up - Road Cycling UK

Expert road bike reviews and the latest road bike news, features and advice. Find rides & events, training articles and participate in our forums


Racing News

Racing round up

Elite Circuit Series 2006

The first two rounds of the British Circuit series kicked off this weekend and some exciting racing ensued. It looks like it should be an good series with Malcolm Elliott, Rob Hayles and crit specialist Warrick Spence (all from different teams) all finishing in the top ten on both days. Plenty to play for in the rest of the series.

The Elite Circuit Series 2006 is Sponsored by Trek Bikes, Club La Santa, Sports Tours International

Saturday – Hillingdon – RESULT

1. Malcolm Elliott Plowman Craven/Leica Geosystems/Opera RT
2. Mariusz Wiesiak Tm Nippo – KFS Special Vehicles/Poland
3. Warrick Spence London Dynamo/Cycle Fit
4. Tony Gibb Plowman Craven/Leica Geosystems/Opera RT
5. Ross Muir Evans Cycles RT
6. Joel Stewart
7. Robert Hayles Tm KLR (@1.22.6)
8. Wesley Cole Plowman Craven/Leica Geosystems/Opera RT
9. Jason Edwards Wildside RT/Ewhurst Controls
10. Ed Whitehorn Glendene CC/Bike Tra

Sunday – Brentwood – RESULT

1. Mariusz Wiesiak, Team Nippo 1:08:01
2. Robert Hayles, Team KLR
3. James Taylor, Plowman Craven RT
4. Malcolm Elliot, Plowman Craven RT
5. Fred Johannson, Plowman Craven RT
6. Karl Freeman, Team Milton Keynes/Phil Corley
7. Warrick Spence, London Dynamo/Cycle Fit
8. Ross Muir, Evans Cycles
9. Martin Form, Team Lloyds TSB
10. Diego Garavito, Team Milton Keynes/Phil Corley

The remaining series rounds

7th of June – Crawley Town Centre Criterium
23rd of June – Beverley Town Centre Criterium
28th of June – Otley Town Centre Criterium
5th of July – Guildford Town Centre Circuit Race
19th of July – Colne Grand Prix
2nd of August – Clitheroe Town Centre Circuit Race
16th of August – Rochdale Town Centre Circuit Race
28th of August – Glasgow Grand Prix
3rd of September – Bob Chicken London GP
17th of September – Travelwise Warwick Town Centre Race

Points system for overall

Points will be awarded to the first twenty places in each event as follows:
1st 100;2nd 85;3rd 75;4th 66;5th 58;6th 51;7th 45; 8th 39;9th 34;10th 29;11th 25;12th 21;13th 18;14th 15; 15th 12;16th 10; 17th 8;18th 6; 19th 4; 20th 2.
Points of 1st 3; 2nd 2 & 3rd 1 awarded on 2 designated sprint laps in each round.
Series to be decided on the seven best points tallies achieved by each rider

2005 Series Overall

1. Dean Downing, 218
2. James Taylor, 213
3. Warrick Spence, London Dynamo 188
4. Ian Holt, Vinerbikes/Agisko Sports Nutrition 177
5. Russell Downing, 165
6. Rob Hayles, 131
7. Ross Muir, Vinerbikes/Agisko Sports Nutrition 130
8. Chris Newton, 127
9. Ben Hallam, Team DFL 117
10. Steve Cummings, Landbouwkredit- Colnago 85


The Bike Show: Dean Downing
Crawley Town Centre: Russell Downing
Brentwood Town Centre: Phil Dixon
Hillingdon GP: James Taylor
Guildford Town Centre: Warwick Spence
Colne GP: Chris Newton
Milton Keynes GP: Dean Downing
Clithero Town Centre: Russell Downing
Glasgow GP: Peter Mazur (Poland)
Bob Chicken GP: Ian Holt
Newport Nocturne: Chris Newton
Warwick Town Centre: Steve Cummings

58th Critérium du Dauphiné Libéré

The traditional warm-up for the Tour de France and a suitably tough one. This year’s race will cover the Col du Galibier and Mont Ventoux. So expect a worthy winner. The prologue kicked it off yesterday and George Hincapie returned to high level competition, he just missed out on the win to compatriot David Zabriskie. Bradley Wiggins was hoping for a good ride but only managed 21st place.

We’re heading off to the race today so expect some pictures and news from the roadside…

Prologue – June 4: Annecy – Annecy, 4.1 km – Results

1. David Zabriskie (USA) Team CSC 4.35.84 (53.509 km/h)
2. George Hincapie (USA) Discovery Channel Pro Cycling Team @ 0.01.88
3. Stuart O’grady (Aus) Team CSC 0.06.07
4. Sebastian Lang (Ger) Gerolsteiner 0.06.91
5. Joost Posthuma (Ned) Rabobank 0.07.35
6. Stijn Devolder (Bel) Discovery Channel Pro Cycling Team 0.07.40
7. Alejandro Valverde (Spa) Caisse d’Epargne-Illes Balears 0.07.61
8. Vladimir Gusev (Rus) Discovery Channel Pro Cycling Team 0.07.70
9. Floyd Landis (USA) Phonak Hearing Systems 0.08.00
10. Andrey Kashechkin (Kaz) Würth 0.08.19
11. Peter Mazur (Pol) Saunier Duval-Prodir 0.08.50
12. Christophe Moreau (Fra) AG2R Prevoyance 0.08.96
13. Bert Grabsch (Ger) Phonak Hearing Systems 0.09.01
14. Thor Hushovd (Nor) Credit Agricole 0.09.32
15. Alexandre Vinokourov (Kaz) Würth 0.09.62
16. Ryder Hesjedal (Can) Phonak Hearing Systems 0.09.67
17. Oscar Pereiro Sio (Spa) Caisse d’Epargne-Illes Balears 0.10.26
18. Manuel Quinziato (Ita) Liquigas 0.10.37
19. Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Liquigas 0.10.46
20. Denis Menchov (Rus) Rabobank 0.10.99
21. Bradley Wiggins (GBr) Cofidis, le Credit par Telephone 0.11.02

RTTC National 25 Championships

An interesting result for the blue ribband time trialling UK title, especially going on the previous few champs. Michael Hutchinson lost his crown to Jason Macintyre and Chris Newton narrowly missed out on gold as the top two were over a minute clear of the bronze medallist Matt Bottrill.

RTTC Championship 25 Men 04/06/2006

1. Jason MacIntyre Equipe Velo Ecosse 00:50:43
2. Chris Newton 00:50:59
3. Matthew Bottrill De Rosa RT 00:52:17
4. Gethin Butler Preston Wheelers 00:52:21
5. Ben Instone A3crg 00:52:39
6. Paul O’Mahoney Ghyllside Cycles 00:52:40
7. Craig Simpson Blue Sky Cycles 00:53:10
8. Michael Hutchinson In Gear Quickvit RT 00:53:23
9. Richard Prebble Pinarello RT 00:53:26
10. Mark Atkinson Equipe Velo Ecosse 00:53:33

RTTC Championship 25 Women 04/06/2006

1. Wendy Houvenaghel Bike Chain/Ricci Ltd 00:57:38
2. Julia Shaw GS Strada 00:58:05
3. Ruth Eyles Beacon Roads CC 00:59:16 37
4. Tanja Slater Science in 00:59:46
5. Caroline Kloiber Rapha Condor 01:00:03
5. Ruth Elliott In Gear Quickvit RT 01:00:03
6. Helen Carter Science in 01:01:17
7. Avril Swan Wheels in Wheels 01:01:41
8. Lynn Hamel Kent Valley RC 01:02:24
9. Angela Hunter GS Strada 01:02:27
10. Melanie Williams 01:02:42

RTTC Championship 25 Juniors 04/06/2006

1. Alex Dowsett Glendene CC 00:54:10
2. Richard Meadows Cleveland Wheelers CC 00:55:26
3. Pete Vincent North Devon Wheelers 00:57:43
4. James Boyman 00:57:50
5. Oliver Graham Wyre Forest CRC 00:57:59
6. Michael Rudling SP Systems/Wightlink RT 00:59:11
7. Robert Bowles Bicester Millennium CC 00:59:59
8. Warren Stokes North Bucks RC 01:01:11
9. Callum Lister Corinium CC 01:01:14
10. Matthew Jennings Stone Wheelers CC 01:01:22

National Derny Championships – Reading

Full report on

Probably one of the more niche championship events but still hard fought and won. Multi-British champion and world class sprinter Victoria Pendleton showed a clean pair of heels in the women’s race whilst Bryan Taylor retained the Men’s championships.

Men’s Derny Championship

1. Bryan Taylor, VC Londres – Paced by Colin Denman, Time: 34.08.92
2, James Holland-Leader, Agiskoviner – Paced by Colin Garnham
3. Simon Gaywood, CC Luton – Paced by Derek Marloe

Women’s Derny Championship

1. Victoria Pendleton, Science in Sport – Paced By Sean Bannister Time: 18.10
2. Laura Bissell, GS Strada – Paced By Ian Smith
3. Leda Cox, Onimpex – Paced By Paul Spender


Newsletter Terms & Conditions

Please enter your email so we can keep you updated with news, features and the latest offers. If you are not interested you can unsubscribe at any time. We will never sell your data and you'll only get messages from us and our partners whose products and services we think you'll enjoy.

Read our full Privacy Policy as well as Terms & Conditions.