Surrey League Revolutions 5-Day - Road Cycling UK

Expert road bike reviews and the latest road bike news, features and advice. Find rides & events, training articles and participate in our forums


Racing News

Surrey League Revolutions 5-Day

The Surrey League Revolutions 5-Day commences on Friday 18th August with a field of 50 riders set for another memorable event sponsored by top cycle retailers Sigma Sport. The numbers seem a little reduced from previous years but that’s not surprising as it is likely that a number of last year’s competitors were not asked back to this invitation only event. Last year saw a large number of riders eliminated after they refused to finish one wet stage but had expected to re-start the following day.

2005 5-Day

Magnus Backstedt rode in 2005 – pic:

This year’s start sheet sees two previous winners line up to contest the 450-mile event with the added incentive of points and mountains competitions. Last year’s winner Duncan Urquhart (Army CU) will find a tough challenge from the Irish 2003 winner Paul Griffin who is guest riding alongside compatriot Tim Barry and talented Kieran and Russell Page in the SP/Wightlink RT squad. Barry is no stranger to the event competing for a number of years winning a stage and finishing third overall in 2001.

The absence of, DFL and Plowman Craven teams from this years event leaves the race wide open for those with the strength and therefore ability to play the tactics game. The stages get progressively harder and it’s not always the early leader that wins the final yellow jersey.

Sunday’s stage features a short morning time trial around the Goodwood motor racing circuit in West Sussex with the field going out to the rolling hills around the horse racing course in afternoon.

Former KOM winner Roger Morgan (VC Meudon) makes a return to the event with only a first category licence following his marriage last year but he has already amassed a few points in local league racing this season and may be coming into some form.

Watch out for Roy Chamberlain (Team Milton Keynes) who always equips himself well in top competition. look the strongest on paper with Rob Enslin, James Williamson, Kevin Dawson, Neil Coleman, Alex Hagman, Alex Biggs and Neil Coleman in the team to beat.

Day 1

Friday 18th August, is based on Ewhurst in Surrey. HQ: Ockley Village Hall. Start Time 12:00. Described as classic rolling Surrey countryside.

Day 2

Saturday 19th August, is based on Staplefield in West Sussex. HQ: Handcross Sports Pavilion. Start Time 12:00.
Long dragging climbs and lots of them. Good road surfaces except in the lanes.

Day 3

Sunday 20th August, is based on Goodwood Motor Racing
The day starts with a time trial around Goodwood Motor Racing Circuit. Start Time 11:00.
This will be followed by a road race with a slight change from the course used for the last nine years. Two ‘new’ hills and each have a superb run down. The drop from Harting is seven miles long! Start Time 13:00.

Day 4

Monday 21st August, is based at Wivelsfield East Sussex. HQ: Wivelsfield Parish Hall. Start Time 12:00. Nothing steep but continually up and down on roads that are far from fast.

Day 5

Tuesday 22nd August, is based at Crowborough and the Ashdown Forest in East Sussex. HQ All Saints Parish Hall, Crowborough. Start Time 12:00. Everything one wants for a great stage – if you are a spectator! If you like long drags, steep hills, fast descents and beautiful scenery this is for you. Not a bit of flat anywhere and your introduction to ‘The Wall’.


Check out the Surrey League Website for full details (including stage maps)

Entry – Entry is still open and there is EOL

1. Duncan Urquart Army CU E
2. Martin Smith Army CU E
3. Allan Ridler Army CU 2
4. Chris Barr Army CU 2
5. Toby Neave E
6. Alex Higham E
7. Neil Coleman E
8. Alex Hagman E
9. Rob Enslin E
10. James Williamson E
11. Kevin Dawson E
12. Adam Biggs E
13. Rob Hurd Chocolatier Isabelle E
14. Jaco Ehlers De Rosa RT 1
15. Stephen Dring 1
16. Alex Atkins Glendene CC 1
17. Dave Coulson JE James E
18. Gareth Hewitt JE James E
19. Matthew Higgins JE James E
20. Chris Belsham JE James 1
21. John Veness Kona UK E
22. William Bjergfelt Kona UK E
23. James Williams Kona UK 1
24. Marcus Brueton Norwood Paragon CC 1
25. Colin Peerman Private member 2
26. Mark Jervis Python RT 1
27. William Bundy RAF CC 1
28. Ben Pochee Rapha Condor 1
29. Ian Legg Red Kite/TorQ Bar E
30. Henry Furniss Ride Beyond E
31. Gary Dodd Sigma Sport RT EV
32. Steve Gowar Sigma Sport RT 1V
33. Daniel Duguid Sigma Sport RT 1
34. Kieran Page SP/Wightlink RT E
35. Paul Griffin SP/Wightlink RT E
36. Tim Barry SP/Wightlink RT E
37. Russell Page SP/Wightlink RT 1V
38. Simon Ambrosini SP/Wightlink RT 2
39. Simon Saunders SP/Wightlink RT 1
40. Roy Chamberlain Team Milton Keynes E
41. Richard Cartland Team Milton Keynes E
42. Tom Kirk Team Milton Keynes 1
43. Jason Ormston Team Quest 1
44. Neil Linford-Relph VC Meudon 2
45. Warren Jesse VC Meudon 1
46. Steven Richards VC Meudon 1
47. Tim Elverson VC Meudon 1
48. Roger Morgan VC Meudon 1
49. Mark Sussex Wildside RT 1
50. David Kennett (Fit-For)


Newsletter Terms & Conditions

Please enter your email so we can keep you updated with news, features and the latest offers. If you are not interested you can unsubscribe at any time. We will never sell your data and you'll only get messages from us and our partners whose products and services we think you'll enjoy.

Read our full Privacy Policy as well as Terms & Conditions.