Racing News

UCI Cyclo-Cross World Cup round five: Namur – report

Kevin Pauwels (Sunweb-Revor) has won the fifth round of the UCI Cyclo-Cross World Cup in Namur, Belgium.

The defending champion rode to a comfortable victory ahead of Sven Nys (Landbouwkrediet-Euphony) and world champion, Niels Albert (BKCP-Powerplus).

Pauwels won the opening round of the World Cup in Tabor, Czech Republic, and scored two podium finishes in Plzen and Roubaix, but fell back in the title hunt after finishing twelfth at Koksijde.

Kevin Pauwels rode to a commanding victory, the second of his 2012-13 World Cup campaign

His victory at Namur places him third, eleven points behind series leader, Albert, and 10 points behind Belgian champion, Nys.

Pauwels said he had not expected to do well on a circuit that involved so much off-the-bike action on uphill sections, but admitted that nearing the end of the race he had gained a sufficient lead to slow down.

His 48-second victory margin over Belgian champion, Nys, told its own story. Albert finished one minute back.

Katie Compton (Trek) moved closer to overall victory in the women’s World Cup with an emphatic victory at Namur.

The American saw off the challenge of the Czech rider, Katerina Nash, and world champion, Marianne Vos (Rabobank).

Katie Compton delivered another powerful performance to extend her lead in the UCI World Cup standings

Compton’s bike handling skills won her the day on a tricky course with an off-camber descent.

British riders were fourth and fifth with national champion, Helen Wyman (Kona), finishing just five seconds behind Vos, and Harris crossing the line some 1.24 down on Compton.

Harris moves to third in the overall standings, 17 points ahead of Wyman, but Compton’s lead, some 80 points clear of second-placed Sanne Van Paassen, looks unassailable with just two rounds to go.

UCI Cyclo-Cross World Cup round five – Namur

Elite men

1) Kevin Pauwels (BEL) – Sunweb-Revor – 1.02.47
2) Sven Nys (BEL) – Landbouwkrediet-Euphony +48”
3) Niels Albert (BEL) – BKCP-Powerplus +1.00
4) Francis Mourey (FRA) – FDJ-Big Mat +1.21
5) Klaas Vantornout (BEL) – Sunweb- Revor +1.45
6) Bart Aernouts (BEL) – AA Drink-Leontien.Nl +2.20
7) Thijs Van Amerongen (NED) – AA Drink – Leontien.Nl  +2.37
8) Lars Van Der Haar (NED) – Rabobank-Giant +2.50
9) Tom Meeusen (BEL) – Telenet-Fidea +3.16
10) Niels Wubben (NED) – Rabobank-Giant +3.23

Elite women

1) Katherine Compton (USA) – Trek – 38.09
2) Katerina Nash (CZE) – Luna Pro Team +28”
3) Marianne Vos (NED) – Rabobank +50”
4) Helen Wyman (GBR) – Kona +55”
5) Nikki Harris (GBR) – Young Telenet-Fidea +1.24
6) Sanne Van Paassen (NED) – Rabobank +1.51
7) Lucie Chainel-Lefevre (FRA) – BH- SR Suntour-Peisey Vallandry +1.57
8) Eva Lechner (ITA) – Colnago Sudtirol +2.41
9) Sanne Cant (BEL) – Veldritacademie Enertherm-BKCP +2.46
10) Christel Ferrier-Bruneau (FRA) – Hitec Products-Mistral Home +2.48


Newsletter Terms & Conditions

Please enter your email so we can keep you updated with news, features and the latest offers. If you are not interested you can unsubscribe at any time. We will never sell your data and you'll only get messages from us and our partners whose products and services we think you'll enjoy.

Read our full Privacy Policy as well as Terms & Conditions.