Road Cycling News

Vos triumphs over Armitstead at Revolution

Marianne Vos (Rabobank) repeated her Olympic triumph over Lizzie Armitstead (AA by besting her in the omnium in the second round of the Revolution series.

The pair, who claimed gold and silver medals in the women’s road race at the London Games, finished first and second respectively after completing six, closely contested events.

Vos and Armitstead went head-to-head in the elimination race, which they finished as the last two riders on the track, and Vos held off Armitstead in the race for the line.

Marianne Vos and Lizzie Armitstead

British riders finished first and third in the women’s scratch race, sandwiching Vos, who was second. Victory went to Katie Colclough (Specialized-Lululemon) while Emily Kay (Scott Contesa-Epic) was third.

Vos completed her omnium triumph by finishing fourth in the points race, an event won by her compatriot, Ellen van Dyck.

Vos and Armitstead took to Twitter following the event, with Vos praising the atmosphere in Manchester and adding that a few days of preparation had paid off.

Armitstead tweeted: “Congrats to Vos on her usual! … Good night by @revolutionuk organisers, thank you for showcasing the women!”

Great Britain went head-to-head with the Netherlands in the women’s team pursuit, and won the event with a time of 2.28.216, to the delight of the crowd.

Rapha Condor Sharp extended their lead at the top of the Elite Championship standings with another dominant display by double Olympic champion, Ed Clancy, and his team pursuit squad mate, Andy Tennant.

Clancy bested Great Britain teammate and fellow team pursuit gold medalist, Steven Burke (Team IG-Sigma Sport) to win the Flying Lap event in a time of 13.292 – more than half a second quicker than his illustrious competitor.

Team IG-Sigma Sport tasted success in the Madison Time Trial, beating the WD40 team into second, and finishing ahead of Team Sky, who were third.

But Sky’s Luke Rowe, whose neo-pro season with the British WorldTour team brought him victory in the opening stage of the Tour of Britain, held off the challenge of Russell Downing (NetApp-Endura) but the narrowest of margins to win the elimination race.

And Team Sky tasted further success, courtesy of British time trial champion, Alex Dowsett, who won the scratch race in his final race for the team before joining the Spanish Movistar squad next season.

Highlights of the event will be shown on ITV4 at 8pm on Wednesday December 5.

Newsletter Terms & Conditions

Please enter your email so we can keep you updated with news, features and the latest offers. If you are not interested you can unsubscribe at any time. We will never sell your data and you'll only get messages from us and our partners whose products and services we think you'll enjoy.

Read our full Privacy Policy as well as Terms & Conditions.