British Cycling announce strong line-up for Manchester World Cup event

Great Britain have unveiled a star-studded line-up for the first round of the UCI Track World Cup 2013-14,  which will be held in Manchester next month.

The line-up includes just one change from the squad that brought back eight medals – including three gold – from last weekend’s European Championships.

Katie Archibald, who raced as part of the world record breaking women’s team pursuit squad will instead compete for her trade team in Manchester, at the event which takes place from November 1 to November 3.

National champions Jo Rowsell, Laura Trott, Elinor Barker and Dani King will lead the team pursuit charge at the UCI Track World Cup but Katie Archibald will instead compete for her trade team (pic: Alex Broadway/

However the remaining squad members – including seven Olympic champions – all retain their places in the British Cycling squad as they bid to rack up Olympic qualification points.

Wiggle Honda’s British team pursuit champions Laura Trott, Dani King, Jo Rowsell and Elinor Barker will bid to repeat their stunning form in the discipline as they make up the women’s endurance squad.

Their male counterparts – Andy Tennant, Sam Harrison, Owain Doull, Jonathan Dibben and Olympic champions Ed Clancy and Steven Burke – form the men’s endurance squad after bagging team pursuit gold in Apeldoorn.

Performance manager Shane Sutton said: “We came home from the European Track Championships with three gold, two silver and three bronze medals, which has given us a solid start to the season.

“We’ll be looking to build on that over the next couple of weeks, and I’m hoping to see some good performances across the board at the World Cup in Manchester.

“To compete at an event at our ‘home’ velodrome is always a big boost to the team and it’s without doubt our favourite venue to race at.”

Despite missing the cut in team sprint qualification at the European Championships, Kian Emadi, Matt Crampton and Olympic Champions Phil Hindes and Jason Kenny – who bagged two individual medals in Apeldoorn – form the men’s sprint squad.

And the line-up is completed by female sprint stars Jess Varnish, Vicky Williamson, and double world champion, Becky James.

Manchester’s National Cycling Centre allows the British riders to kickstart their UCI World Cup campaign on their ‘home track’ (pic: Alex Broadway/

The event will be broadcast live via the BBC red button on Friday and Saturday, while BBC2 will show Sunday’s events live from 3pm to 5pm.

A limited number of tickets for the Friday afternoon session are also still available, via

Discuss in the forum

Great Britain squad for UCI Track World Cup event one

Men’s Sprint
Matt Crampton
Kian Emadi
Jason Kenny
Phil Hindes

Women’s Sprint
Becky James
Jess Varnish
Vicky Williamson

Men’s Endurance
Steven Burke
Ed Clancy
Jon Dibben
Owain Doull
Sam Harrison
Andy Tennant

Women’s Endurance
Elinor Barker
Dani King
Joanna Rowsell
Laura Trott


Newsletter Terms & Conditions

Please enter your email so we can keep you updated with news, features and the latest offers. If you are not interested you can unsubscribe at any time. We will never sell your data and you'll only get messages from us and our partners whose products and services we think you'll enjoy.

Read our full Privacy Policy as well as Terms & Conditions.