David Millar to defend time trial gold medal at Glasgow 2014

Host nation Scotland announces cycling squad for Commonwealth Games

David Millar will defend his Commonwealth Games time trial gold medal in Glasgow, after host nation Scotland unveiled their 30-squad cycling squad.

Millar was fastest against the clock in Delhi four years ago and also finished third in the road race, and the Scot – who is due to retire at the end of this year – will have the opportunity to add to his medal haul in front of a home crowd this time out.

Garmin-Sharp rider David Millar will defend his Commonwealth Games time trial gold medal for Scotland in Glasgow (pic: Sirotti)

Omega Pharma-Quickstep’s Andy Fenn will also compete in the time trial and road race – having been a key support rider for Mark Cavendish in last year’s British national road race in the city.

Mountain biker Grant Ferguson, Evan Oliphant (Team Raleigh) and James McCallum (NFTO Pro Cycling) complete the men’s road race line-up, while two-time team pursuit world champion Katie Archibald will lead the women’s team with support from Anne Ewing, Charline Joiner, Eileen Roe and Claire Thomas.

Archibald, who burst onto the track scene with a string of impressive performances over the winter, will also compete in all of the track endurance events as she looks to build on the medal success she has enjoyed with Great Britain and the Scotland Braveheart Team. Joiner, Roe and Anne Turvey will join Archibald on the boards,  while Jenny Davis and Eleanor Richardson will ride the women’s track sprint events.

Katie Archibald will lead the Scottish women on the road and track (Pic: Alex Broadway/

McCullum and Oliphant are also set to compete on the track for the host nation in the men’s endurance events, where they will be joined by Alistair Rutherford and Mark Stewart.

Callum Skinner, meanwhile, will lead the men’s track sprint squad as he looks to follow in the footsteps of the man whose name adorns the velodrome where the events will take place – Sir Chris Hoy.

Para-cycling makes its Commonwealth Games debut this year and multiple world championship and Paralympic medal winner Aileen McGlynn will lead the Scottish charge, racing with pilot Louise Haston. Laura Cluxton and pilot Fiona Duncan complete the para cycling line-up.

Newsletter Terms & Conditions

Please enter your email so we can keep you updated with news, features and the latest offers. If you are not interested you can unsubscribe at any time. We will never sell your data and you'll only get messages from us and our partners whose products and services we think you'll enjoy.

Read our full Privacy Policy as well as Terms & Conditions.