Cycling at the Rio 2016 Olympic Games: essential guide and TV schedule

When are the Rio 2016 cycling events taking place and which British riders are on the hunt for gold medal success?

The Rio 2016 Olympic Games get underway this week, with the first few events in Brazil starting on Wednesday (August 3) before the official opening ceremony at midnight UK time on Saturday (August 6).

The first cycling events follow in the day on Saturday, with British Cycling sending a 27-strong squad to the Games across the four cycling disciplines.

Chris Froome, fresh from his Tour de France win, heads the men’s road race squad while women’s world champion Lizzie Armitstead is one of the three women selected.

On the track, Sir Bradley Wiggins and Mark Cavendish are among the men out for medal success while Laura Trott will bid for a repeat of her London 2012 gold medal double.

Chris Froome and Adam Yates will ride the Rio 2016 Olympic road race on their back of their Tour de France successes (pic: Sirotti)

And every event is being shown live on the BBC, with BBC One and BBC Four becoming dedicated Olympic channels for the duration of the Games and up to 24 live streams available via the BBC Red Button or BBC Sport website.

So when do you need to tune in to catch all of the best action on two wheels? Check out the full cycling schedule below and the Brits to look out for.

All underlined times indicate the events where the final medal winners will be determined.

Saturday August 6

Men’s road race – 1.30pm

Brit watch: Chris Froome, Geraint Thomas, Steve Cummings, Adam Yates, Ian Stannard


Sunday August 7

Women’s road race – 4.30pm

Brit watch: Lizzie Armitstead, Emma Pooley, Nikki Harris


Wednesday August 10

Women’s individual time trial – 12.30pm

Brit watch: Emma Pooley

Men’s individual time trial – 2pm

Brit watch: Chris Froome

Can Chris Froome add to the bronze medal he won in the time trial at London 2012? (pic: Sirotti)


Thursday August 11

Men’s team sprint – Qualifying – 8pm; First round – 9.10pm; Finals – 10.21pm

Brit watch: Jason Kenny, Callum Skinner, Philip Hindes

Women’s team pursuit – Qualifying – 8.19pm

Brit watch: (from) Laura Trott, Jo Rowsell Shand, Elinor Barker, Katie Archibald, Ciara Horne

Men’s team pursuit – Qualifying – 9.23pm

Brit watch: Sir Bradley Wiggins, Ed Clancy, Steven Burke, Owain Doull


Friday August 12

Women’s team sprint – Qualifying – 8pm; First round – 9.17pm; Finals – 10pm

Brit watch: N/A

Men’s sprint – Qualifying – 8.14pm; 1/16 finals – 9.30pm

Brit watch: (from) Jason Kenny, Callum Skinner, Philip Hindes

Men’s team pursuit – First round – 8.52pm; Finals – 10.20pm

Brit watch: Wiggins, Clancy, Burke, Doull

Sir Bradley Wiggins will ride the team pursuit, bidding to add an eighth Olympic medal to his palmares (Pic:


Saturday August 13

Women’s keirin – First round – 2pm; Second round – 8.22pm; Finals – 9.27pm

Brit watch: Becky James

Men’s sprint – 1/8 finals – 2.23pm; quarter-finals – 8pm; 9-12th final – 8.18pm; semi-finals – 9.41pm; 5th-8th final – 10.17pm

Brit watch: (from) Kenny, Skinner, Hindes

Women’s team pursuit – First round – 3.17pm (Sat); Finals – 8.53pm

Brit watch: (from) Trott, Rowsell Shand, Barker, Archibald, Horne

Sunday August 14

Women’s sprint – Qualifying – 8pm; 1/16 finals – 9.12pm

Brit watch: Becky James, Katy Marchant

Men’s omnium – Scratch race – 8.40pm; Individual pursuit – 9.50pm; Elimination race – 11.15pm

Brit watch: Mark Cavendish

Men’s sprint – Finals – 9.04pm

Brit watch: (from) Kenny, Skinner, Hindes


Monday August 15

Women’s sprint – 1/8 finals – 2pm; 9th-12th final – 8.26pm

Brit watch: Becky James, Katy Marchant

Men’s omnium – Time trial – 2.21pm; Flying lap – 8pm; Points race – 9.23pm

Brit watch: Mark Cavendish

Women’s omnium – Scratch race – 2.59pm; Individual pursuit – 8.30pm; Elimination race – 10.17pm

Brit watch: Laura Trott

Laura Trott and Mark Cavendish will be in omnium action (pic: Simon Wilkinson/


Tuesday August 16

Women’s sprint – quarter-finals – 2pm; semi-finals – 8pm; Finals – 9.44pm

Brit watch: Becky James, Katy Marchant

Men’s keirin – First round – 2.18pm; Second round – 8.46pm; Finals – 10.14pm

Brit watch: Jason Kenny

Women’s omnium – Time trial – 2.57pm; Flying lap – 8.10pm; Points race – 9.05pm

Brit watch: Laura Trott


Wednesday August 17

Women’s BMX – seeding run – 5.30pm

Brit watch: N/A

Men’s BMX – seeding run – 6.34pm

Brit watch: Liam Phillips, Kyle Evans


Thursday August 18

Men’s BMX – quarter-finals – 5.30pm

Brit watch: Liam Phillips, Kyle Evans


Friday August 19

Women’s BMX – semi-finals – 5.30pm; Final – 7pm

Brit watch: N/A

Men’s BMX – semi-finals – 5.38pm; Final – 7.10pm

Brit watch: Liam Phillips, Kyle Evans


Saturday August 20

Women’s cross-country MTB – 4.30pm

Brit watch: N/A


Sunday August 21

Men’s cross-country MTB – 4.30pm

Brit watch: Grant Ferguson


Newsletter Terms & Conditions

Please enter your email so we can keep you updated with news, features and the latest offers. If you are not interested you can unsubscribe at any time. We will never sell your data and you'll only get messages from us and our partners whose products and services we think you'll enjoy.

Read our full Privacy Policy as well as Terms & Conditions.