Lizzie Armitstead and Marianne Vos top RideLondon GP start list

Commonwealth Games gold medal winner returns to the Mall to face world and Olympic champion

Commonwealth Games gold medallist Lizzie Armitstead (Boels-Dolmans) headlines a star-studded line-up set for the Prudential RideLondon Grand Prix this weekend.

Armitstead, the current women’s World Cup leader, defending RideLondon GP champion Laura Trott (Wiggle-Honda) and world champion Marianne Vos (Rabobank Liv) will all race on Saturday August 9.

Lizzie Armitstead will race at the RideLondon GP fresh from winning Commonwealth Games gold in Glasgow (pic: Alex Whitehead/

In what will be the largest ever UK women’s criterium, Vos and Armitstead will be repeating their London 2012 battle on The Mall when Vos pipped the British rider to Olympic gold.

The race, which will be broadcast live on BBC2, will also welcome a strong domestic field including Pearl Izumi Sports Tours International’s stars Dame Sarah Storey and Katie Archibald.

Tour Series winner and recently-crowned British Criterium Champion Eileen Roe (Starley Primal) is also set for the start line alongside women’s road series champion Nicola Juniper (Team Echelon-ROTOR).

It will follow the same route as last year’s race, starting off The Mall before passing through St James’ Park, Birdcage Walk, Horse Guards Parade and returning to The Mall.

The race forms part of the Prudential RideLondon Festival of Cycling, which will also welcome 24,000 sportive riders on the Sunday before the UCI 1.HC classified RideLondon-Surrey Classic.

For more information visit


Newsletter Terms & Conditions

Please enter your email so we can keep you updated with news, features and the latest offers. If you are not interested you can unsubscribe at any time. We will never sell your data and you'll only get messages from us and our partners whose products and services we think you'll enjoy.

Read our full Privacy Policy as well as Terms & Conditions.