Pearl Izumi Tour Series 2014: Rapha Condor JLT seal overall success in Jersey

Expert road bike reviews and the latest road bike news, features and advice. Find rides & events, training articles and participate in our forums



Pearl Izumi Tour Series 2014: Rapha Condor JLT seal overall success in Jersey

Matthieu Boulo and Tom Stewart claim individual wins in final round

Tom Stewart helped Madison-Genesis to yet another Tour Series success in the final round in Jersey, but it was not enough to stop Rapha Condor JLT wrapping up the overall title.

Stewart, who also won round nine in Woking, attacked off the front of a ten-leading group as the race approached the hour-mark, soloing to victory on the fast, technical Gorey circuit in Jersey.

Rapha Condor JLT sealed overall success in Jersey, becoming the first team to ever win two titles in the Series’ history (pic: Tour Series)

With Canary Wharf winner Tobyn Horton crossing in sixth behind him, it was good enough for Madison-Genesis to continue their purple patch with another team win.

However, having won the timed hill climb earlier in the afternoon in the first part of the Jersey double-header, it was Rapha Condor who sealed the overall team title.

The Series’ final event, which travelled to the Channel Islands for the first time, had kicked off with a race against the clock on the Mont de la Guerande.

Adam Blythe (NFTO Pro Cycling), who later went on to win the Pearl Izumi Jersey International road race, looked to have done enough to win the stage after setting the benchmark.

Former BMC Racing man Blythe, who was part of Cadel Evans’ support squad at the 2013 Giro d’Italia, showed the benefit of his experience with a time of 3’10.88.

Frenchman Matthieu Boulo (Team Raleigh), however, set off third from last and, riding a 53×26, became the only man to reach the summit in less than 3’10 – his 3’09.62 enough to earn his second individual win of the series after success in Redditch.

Matthiew Boulo won the timed hill climb in Jersey (pic: Tour Series)

Behind him, George Harper (Node4-Velosure) continued his impressive form with third place, while Kristian House (Rapha Condor JLT) finished fifth – his performance helping to lift the team to victory thanks to the cumulative time of their five riders.

Already boasting a big lead ahead of the double-header, the team win was enough to ensure the team could not be denied a second Tour Series victory, following their 2011 success.

And, despite losing the injured Felix English during the criterium, John Herety’s team ensured they were active in the final round too as Ed Clancy and Kristian House joined the leading group.

Clancy has now been part of the Tour Series winning team on four occasions – the first man ever to do so.

House, meanwhile, an integral part of the Rapha Condor JLT squad, took the night’s sprint prize to seal second place in the classification behind Jon Mould (NFTO), who had already secured victory in Woking.

Several attacks off the front of the leading group, form a host of different riders, failed to stick as the laps ticked down in Jersey.

Stewart, however, managed to earn a gap and quickly turned it into a sizable 16-second lead – holding on in the final five laps to seal a second individual win as Madison-Genesis’ run of results continued.

Morgan Kneisky (Team Raleigh) pipped Ed Clancy to second place on the night with the impressive Harper finishing fourth after having done much of the chasing for the second group.

Tom Stewart attacked as the hour mark approached, eking out an advantage which he held throughout the final few laps (pic: Tour Series)

Madison-Genesis’ team victory sealed second place overall, but it was Rapha Condor JLT – in the final year of the clothing brand’s sponsorship – left to celebrate on the final podium.

Highlights of the final event of the 2014 Pearl Izumi Tour Series will be shown on ITV4 at 7pm on Monday June 16, with a repeat at 11.50am on Tuesday June 17, and will be available on the ITV Player for 30-days after broadcast.

Pearl Izumi Tour Series 2014: round ten hill climb – individual result

1) Matthieu Boulo (FRA) – Team Raleigh – 3:09.62
2) Adam Blythe (GBR) – NFTO Pro Cycling – 3:10.88
3) George Harper (GBR) – Node4-Velosure – 3:11.87
4) Jack Pullar (GBR) – Starley Primal Pro Cycling – 3:12.39
5) Kristian House (GBR) – Rapha Condor JLT – 3:13.16
6) Jon Mould (GBR) – NFTO Pro Cycling – 3:14.46
7) Germain Burton (GBR) – Great Britain – 3:14.77
8) Jon Dibben (GBR) – Great Britain – 3:15.60
9) George Pym (GBR) – Starley Primal Pro Cycling – 3:16.78
10) Mike Northey (GBR) – Madison Genesis – 3:17.55

Pearl Izumi Tour Series 2014: round ten criterium – individual result

1) Tom Stewart (GBR) – Madison Genesis
2) Morgan Kniesky (FRA) –Team Raleigh
3) Ed Clancy (GBR) – Rapha Condor JLT
4) George Harper (GBR) – Node4 Velosure
5) Alex Paton (GBR) – Pedal Heaven Colbornes
6) Tobyn Horton (GBR) – Madison Genesis
7) Jon Mould (GBR) – NFTO Pro Cycling
8) George Atkins (GBR) – Team Raleigh
9) Rob Partridge (GBR) – Node4 Velosure
10) Kristian House (GBR) – Rapha Condor JLT

Final team standings

1) Rapha Condor JLT – 126pts
2) Madison Genesis – 110pts
3) Team Raleigh – 95pts
4) NFTO Pro Cycling – 84pts
5) Node4 Velosure – 81pts
6) Metaltek Kuota – 50pts
7) Great Britain – 47pts
8) Starley Primal Pro Cycling – 46pts
9) Pedal Heaven Colbornes – 45pts


Newsletter Terms & Conditions

Please enter your email so we can keep you updated with news, features and the latest offers. If you are not interested you can unsubscribe at any time. We will never sell your data and you'll only get messages from us and our partners whose products and services we think you'll enjoy.

Read our full Privacy Policy as well as Terms & Conditions.