Nicole Cooke in Sports Personality shortlist - Road Cycling UK

Expert road bike reviews and the latest road bike news, features and advice. Find rides & events, training articles and participate in our forums



Nicole Cooke in Sports Personality shortlist

Nicole Cooke
Nicole, in her usual motion-blurred state

Last week we pondered the possibility of a cyclist winning the BBC’s Sports Personality of the Year award, and as the shortlist is revealed today, this possibility is one step closer.

Nicole Cooke will line up beside Jenson Button, Zara Phillips, Darren Clarke, Andy Murray, Joe Calzaghe, Ricky Hatton, Monty Panesar, Beth Tweddle and Phil Taylor. The winner of the 53rd awards will be chosen after a public vote (via phone and text) on BBC1 at 7pm this Sunday.

Most of Cooke’s contenders have had considerable success in their respective areas of expertise, so it’s certainly going to be a close fought race on the night. But, if enough cyclists tune in and vote for Cooke, you never know, we could have the second cyclist to ever win the awards – since Tommy Simpson in 1965.

BBC Sports Personality 2006


Newsletter Terms & Conditions

Please enter your email so we can keep you updated with news, features and the latest offers. If you are not interested you can unsubscribe at any time. We will never sell your data and you'll only get messages from us and our partners whose products and services we think you'll enjoy.

Read our full Privacy Policy as well as Terms & Conditions.