Event News

Franco Marvulli dominant at Revolution 31

Le Col now trail Maxgear by just two points in the team standings (pic: Larry Hickmott – British Cycling)

Olympic Madison silver medallist Franco Marvulli helped Le Col close the gap on Maxgear to just two points ahead of the final Revolution event of the series on January 15.

Le Col leapfrogged Motorpoint and Team Sky after Saturday’s racing with Marvulli striking a hat-trick of victories in the team elimination, 1km Madison time trial and team points race.

The evening’s opening event, the team elimination, saw the last rider in the race eliminated, along with his entire team.

Team Sky and Le Col were left to battle it out head-to-head – but Marvulli, Andy Fenn and Jon Mould combined to clinch victory.

David Daniell won the 200m time trial in 10.338 seconds second, ahead of Roy van den Berg and Tuen Mulder. 

The 1km Madison time trial saw Manchester City Council’s Claudio Imhof and Sam Harrison clock the fastest time in the first round but Marvulli and Fenn defeated the duo in the second round in 58.485.

Van den Berg was prolific throughout his sprint heats but won his semi-final by less than half-a-wheel and when he came up against Brit Daniell in the final, he was completely blown away in impressive style by the Commonwealth Games Keirin silver medallist.

The team points race saw just three points separate the top four teams with 20 laps remaining, with Team Sky trio Russell Downing, Pete Kennaugh and Tom Murray leading the pack.

But Marvulli increased his dominance on the event by captaining the Le Col team to maximum points in the next two sprints, before holding on to clinch victory with 29 points, over Sky’s 25.

The all-new Australian pursuit saw eight riders pursuit on the track simultaneously, and if a rider was caught they were eliminated and the winner was the first to cover the 3km distance

A two-way battle developed between Downing and Leif Lampater, with German six-day specialist Lampater pipping the Brit in a closely-fought encounter.  

In the 10km scratch race, Dean Downing made an early attack but was quickly countered by Alex Dowsett, Sam Harrison and Kennaugh.

But those breaks proved fruitless, as it was underdog Jon Mould who took the win for Le Col, adding to Marvulli’s dominance in the earlier races.

And Revolution 31 was brought to a close with a Great Britain versus Holland team pursuit.

Olympic silver medallist Ross Edgar adopted Dutch nationality for the event and joined Tuen Mulder and Roy van den Berg but the trio were overhauled by Daniell, Pete Mitchell and Philip Hinde.

Tickets for the series finale on January 15 are available now on

Newsletter Terms & Conditions

Please enter your email so we can keep you updated with news, features and the latest offers. If you are not interested you can unsubscribe at any time. We will never sell your data and you'll only get messages from us and our partners whose products and services we think you'll enjoy.

Read our full Privacy Policy as well as Terms & Conditions.