Event News

Stage five: Frapporti outlasts Wiggins

Michael Frapporti celebrates in Glastonbury with Bradley Wiggins watching on

Bradley Wiggins was denied a victory on home soil after Marco Frapporti’s late attack on stage five of the Tour of Britain in Glastonbury.

The duo were part of an eight-strong break which dictated the day’s racing and Colnago-CSF INOX rider Frapporti countered a dash for glory by Garmin-Transitions’ Dan Martin in the closing stages.

The Italian then attacked Martin as the Irishman tired with 5km left before holding on to claim the 176km stage.

Team Sky man Wiggins, looking for a late silver lining to shine some light on a disappointing 2010, was forced to settle for second 13 seconds back, while Lucas Haedo (Saxo Bank) completed the podium.

Michael Albasini, who also tops the points standings, finished in the main peloton and retains the overall lead with a one minute, 28 second advantage over Richie Porte. 

The riders now transfer nearly 400km to King’s Lynn ahead of Thursday’s 190km stage to Great Yarmouth.

Stage five results

1) Marco Frapporti – Colnago–CSF Inox – 4h 16m 10s

2) Bradley Wiggins – Sky Professional Cycling Team – @ 13s

3) Lucas Sebastien Haedo – Team Saxo Bank – @ 32s

Honda combativity award winner: Pieter Ghyllebert – AN Post Sean Kelly Cycling Team

General classification standings (after stage five)

1) Michael Albasini – Team HTC–Columbia – 19h 53m 09s

2) Richie Porte – Team Saxo Bank – @ 1m 28s

3) Borut Bozic – Vacansoleil Pro Cycling Team – @ 1m 32s

The Prostate Cancer Charity points jersey standings (after stage five)

1) Michael Albasini – Team HTC–Columbia – 39pts

2) Greg Henderson – Sky Professional Cycling Team – 36pts

3) Koen De Kort – Skil–Shimano – 30pts

King of the Mountains jersey standings (after stage five)

1) Johnny Hoogerland – Vacansoleil Pro Cycling Team – 51pts

2) Richie Porte – Team Saxo Bank – 45pts

3) Dan Martin – Garmin–Transitions – 32pts

The sprints jersey standings (after stage five)

1) Michal Golas – Vacansoleil Pro Cycling Team – 23pts

2) Richie Porte – Team Saxo Bank – 15pts

3) Matthew Hayman – Sky Professional Cycling Team – 11pts


Newsletter Terms & Conditions

Please enter your email so we can keep you updated with news, features and the latest offers. If you are not interested you can unsubscribe at any time. We will never sell your data and you'll only get messages from us and our partners whose products and services we think you'll enjoy.

Read our full Privacy Policy as well as Terms & Conditions.