Olympic champion Ed Clancy wins round four of 2013 Pearl Izumi Tour Series in Aberystwyth

Ed Clancy (Rapha Condor JLT) has won the fourth round of the 2013 Pearl Izumi Tour Series, sprinting clear of a four-man break that nearly lapped the field in Aberystwyth.

The double Olympic gold medalist saw off the challenge of second-placed Chris Opie (Team UK Youth), whose podium placing helped his squad retain a slender advantage over Team Raleigh at the top of the team standings.

Raleigh’s Alexandre Blain was third, while Andy Tennant’s fourth place for Madison Genesis helped the new outfit finish second on the night in the team standings. The Roger Hammond-managed squad placed a further two riders in the top 10.

Inclement weather did nothing to deter the crowds for the Aberystwyth round of the 2013 Pearl Izumi Tour Series

Bad weather had little effect on the huge crowds – the biggest seen in the Tour Series’ three-year tenure in the Welsh coastal resort, according to organisers – but forced the commissaries to amend the circuit.

The crowds were rewarded with an aggressive display from the first four riders, who attacked early in the race and established a lead of nearly a minute, placing the opposition in danger of being lapped.

Team Raleigh’s Tobyn Horton and Alex Peters (Madison-Genesis) attempted to bridge to the leaders, but were hauled back by the peloton.

Up ahead, former Endura Racing rider, Blain, a winner for Raleigh this year of the final stage of the Tour of Normandie, attempted to shed his rivals in the leading quartet with just two laps remaining. While the Frenchman’s efforts were in vain, he could draw consolation from his new leadership of the IG Sprints jersey.

Once Blain had been hauled back it was Opie, riding to his second consecutive second place in Aberystwyth, who took up the pace. Clancy, however, a vastly experienced rider, powered out of the final corner to pass Opie and claim the victory. The British powerhouse, a multiple world champion on the track, also claimed the Costa Express Fastest Lap.

Televised highlights of the action from Aberystwyth will be shown by ITV4 on Monday (May 27) at 10pm, and repeated at 6.30am on Tuesday (May 28).

Torquay will host the next round of the 2013 Pearl Izumi Tour Series on Tuesday (May 28).

Discuss in the forum

Pearl Izumi 2013 Tour Series: round four (Aberystwyth) – result

1) Ed Clancy (GBR) – Rapha Condor JLT
2) Chris Opie (GBR) – Team UK Youth
3) Alexandre Blain (FRA) – Team Raleigh
4) Andy Tennant (GBR) – Madison Genesis
5) Kristian House (GBR) – Rapha Condor JLT
6) Dean Downing (GBR) – Madison Genesis
7) Jon Mould (GBR) – Team UK Youth
8) Niklas Gustavsson (SWE) – Team UK Youth
9) Tobyn Horton (GBR) – Team Raleigh
10) Liam Holohan (GBR) – Madison Genesis

Team standings after round four

1) Team UK Youth – 36pts
2) Team Raleigh – 34pts
3) Madison Genesis – 33pts
4) Rapha Condor JLT – 29pts
5) Node4 Giordana Racing – 24pts
6) Metaltek – Knights of Old – 20pts
7) MG Maxifuel – 13pts
8) Team IG Sigma Sport – 13pts
9) Team Hope Factory Racing – 12pts
10) Spin Rotor – Primal-C-Originals – 5pts


Newsletter Terms & Conditions

Please enter your email so we can keep you updated with news, features and the latest offers. If you are not interested you can unsubscribe at any time. We will never sell your data and you'll only get messages from us and our partners whose products and services we think you'll enjoy.

Read our full Privacy Policy as well as Terms & Conditions.