Giro d'Italia Stage 11 for Petacchi - Road Cycling UK

Expert road bike reviews and the latest road bike news, features and advice. Find rides & events, training articles and participate in our forums


Racing News

Giro d'Italia Stage 11 for Petacchi

Alessandro Petacchi wins the sprint

The moment Nikolai Trusov begins a mass crash

Not a dignified way to crash is it now?

A wet day for the riders made the racing dangerous, and nowhere was this highlighted more than in the final sprint for the finish.

Alessandro Petacchi (Milram) took his third win in this year’s Giro ahead of Gabriele Balducci (Acqua & Sapone) and Robbie McEwen. And while Petacchi was throwing his hands up in celebration, chaos erupted behind. First rider to fall was Nikolai Trusov (Tinkoff), losing control on the wet roads. This caused loads of riders behind to subsequently fall, sliding across the finish line, including Maglia Rosa Andrea Noè (Liquigas).

Commenting on his third win, Petacchi said: “With seven kilometres to go I didn’t want to do the sprint because of the rain. But my team-mates had done a very good job, so I did it anyway. Fortunately I won. I’m very happy for my team and for myself. When I came to the Giro I didn’t think I’d win three stages.“

Stage 11 Results

  • 1 Alessandro Petacchi (Ita) Team Milram 5.46.59 (34.237 km/h)
  • 2 Gabriele Balducci (Ita) Acqua & Sapone – Caffe Mokambo
  • 3 Robbie McEwen (Aus) Predictor – Lotto
  • 4 Thor Hushovd (Nor) Crédit Agricole
  • 5 Danilo Napolitano (Ita) Lampre – Fondital
  • 6 Angelo Furlan (Ita) Crédit Agricole
  • 7 Koldo Fernandez (Spa) Euskaltel – Euskadi
  • 8 Alexandre Usov (Blr) AG2r Prévoyance
  • 9 Robert Förster (Ger) Gerolsteiner
  • 10 Enrico Gasparotto (Ita) Liquigas

    General Classification

  • 1 Andrea Noe’ (Ita) Liquigas 51.53.08
  • 2 Marzio Bruseghin (Ita) Lampre – Fondital 1.08
  • 3 David Arroyo Duran (Spa) Caisse d’Epargne 1.15
  • 4 Francisco Javier Vila Errandonea (Spa) Lampre – Fondital 1.38
  • 5 Evgeni Petrov (Rus) Tinkoff Credit System 1.48
  • 6 Emanuele Sella (Ita) Ceramica Panaria – Navigare 2.04
  • 7 Serguei Yakovlev (Kaz) Astana 2.06
  • 8 Danilo Di Luca (Ita) Liquigas 2.58
  • 9 Marco Pinotti (Ita) T-Mobile Team 3.11
  • 10 José Luis Rubiera Vigil (Spa) Discovery Channel Pro Cycling Team 3.22
  • Share

    Newsletter Terms & Conditions

    Please enter your email so we can keep you updated with news, features and the latest offers. If you are not interested you can unsubscribe at any time. We will never sell your data and you'll only get messages from us and our partners whose products and services we think you'll enjoy.

    Read our full Privacy Policy as well as Terms & Conditions.