Great Britain squad named for cyclo-cross World Championships

Expert road bike reviews and the latest road bike news, features and advice. Find rides & events, training articles and participate in our forums


Racing News

Great Britain squad named for cyclo-cross World Championships

Recently crowned national champions Ian Field and Nikki Harris have been named in Great Britain’s 12-rider squad for the UCI Cyclo-Cross World Championships in Louisville, Kentucky, on February 2-3.

National champion Ian Field will be Great Britain’s sole male representative at the World Championships

Field and Harris won the men’s and women’s national titles respectively in Bradford at the weekend, and will be joined by European champion Helen Wyman and Annie Last, eighth in the women’s Olympic cross-country mountain bike race at London 2012.

Great Britain’s female cyclo-cross riders have enjoyed a stellar season, with Wyman second in the overall UCI world rankings after registering a number of high-profile victories on the Continent, including at the prestigious Koppenbergcross, while Harris is ranked second in the World Cup standings ahead of the final race in Hoogerheide on January 20.

Great Britain cyclo-cross team manager Phil Dixon said: “The women’s team in particular have had a very strong season, with Helen Wyman and Nikki Harris now both ranked in the top five in the individual UCI rankings while the GB women are ranked second in the nation rankings – so that should make for a very exciting race.

“Following on from the National Championships at the weekend, Ian Field was the stand out men’s rider for me having won the national champion’s jersey for the second consecutive season.

“I’m also interested to see how the under-23 and junior squads get on – we’ve selected some young development athletes to take to the worlds and they’re looking to build on the experience they gained by racing at the European Champions in Ipswich in November. Overall, the team is looking in good shape and we’re all looking forward to the racing.”

Great Britain squad

Elite men
Ian Field

Elite women
Gabby Day
Nikki Harris
Annie Last
Helen Wyman

Under-23 men
Steven James
Adam Martin
Hugh Robinson

Junior men
Billy Harding
Adam King
Jack Ravenscroft
Jake Womersley


Newsletter Terms & Conditions

Please enter your email so we can keep you updated with news, features and the latest offers. If you are not interested you can unsubscribe at any time. We will never sell your data and you'll only get messages from us and our partners whose products and services we think you'll enjoy.

Read our full Privacy Policy as well as Terms & Conditions.