Michael Rasmussen wins Tour stage 8 - Road Cycling UK

Expert road bike reviews and the latest road bike news, features and advice. Find rides & events, training articles and participate in our forums


Racing News

Michael Rasmussen wins Tour stage 8

stage 7

All aboard for the tough climb to Tignes

stage 7

Yesterday’s yellow jersey winner Linus Gerdemann gallantly held on

stage 7

It was Michael Rasmussen’s day however, with his sights set on the overall victory

On the second day of racing through the beautiful Alps, Michael Rasmussen chose this tough stage to make his mark on the race. The 33-year-old won his third Tour stage victory by attacking an early breakaway 18km from the finish, leaving Iban Mayo trailing 2.47 down.

“I do not know what to say,” said Rasmussen. “The yellow jersey is a childhood dream. It is really difficult to find the right words; it is simply overwhelming.” Rasmussen has made it clear he aims to keep the yellow jersey: “Now that I am wearing it, it would be stupid not to.”

The rest of the Tour contenders trailed in over three minutes behind, consisting of Alejandro Valverde, Christophe Moreau, Frank Schleck, Cadel Evan, Andrey Kashechkin, and Alberto Contador Velasco not far behind.

Stunning stage 7 winner Linus Gerdemann failed to hold the yellow jersey, the effort expended on the day no doubt taking its toll. There was bad news for the T-Mobile team. Team leader and GC hopeful Michael Rogers crashed 54km from the finish, ending his hopes of racing to Paris. Mark Cavendish also abandoned the race.

Stage 8 Results

  • 1 Michael Rasmussen (Den) Rabobank 4.49.40 (34.18 km/h)
  • 2 Iban Mayo Diez (Spa) Saunier Duval – Prodir 2.47
  • 3 Alejandro Valverde Belmonte (Spa) Caisse d’Epargne 3.12
  • 4 Christophe Moreau (Fra) AG2r Prévoyance 3.13
  • 5 Frank Schleck (Lux) Team CSC
  • 6 Cadel Evans (Aus) Predictor – Lotto
  • 7 Andrey Kashechkin (Kaz) Astana
  • 8 Alberto Contador Velasco (Spa) Discovery Channel 3.31
  • 9 Denis Menchov (Rus) Rabobank 3.35
  • 10 Carlos Sastre Candil (Spa) Team CSC

    General Classification after stage 8

  • 1 Michael Rasmussen (Den) Rabobank 39.37.42
  • 2 Linus Gerdemann (Ger) T-Mobile Team 0.43
  • 3 Iban Mayo Diez (Spa) Saunier Duval – Prodir 2.39
  • 4 Alejandro Valverde Belmonte (Spa) Caisse d’Epargne 2.51
  • 5 Andrey Kashechkin (Kaz) Astana 2.52
  • 6 Cadel Evans (Aus) Predictor – Lotto 2.53
  • 7 Christophe Moreau (Fra) AG2r Prévoyance 3.06
  • 8 Alberto Contador Velasco (Spa) Discovery Channel 3.10
  • 9 Frank Schleck (Lux) Team CSC 3.14
  • 10 Denis Menchov (Rus) Rabobank 3.19
  • Share

    Newsletter Terms & Conditions

    Please enter your email so we can keep you updated with news, features and the latest offers. If you are not interested you can unsubscribe at any time. We will never sell your data and you'll only get messages from us and our partners whose products and services we think you'll enjoy.

    Read our full Privacy Policy as well as Terms & Conditions.