National Track Championships - Day 3 - Road Cycling UK

Expert road bike reviews and the latest road bike news, features and advice. Find rides & events, training articles and participate in our forums


Racing News

National Track Championships – Day 3


Day three saw some tightly contested finals for both the men and the women.

Men’s Sprint Finals

It was Craig Maclean (Dolan) who’s experience and sheer power saw him through to win the Gold from the strong Science in Sport rider Ross Edgar. Chris Hoy took to the podium yet again to take the Bronze position after the ride off against Science in Sport’s Matt Crampton.

Ride off for Bronze

Chris HOY beat Matthew CRAMPTON 2-0 (10.821 & 10.644)

Ride off for Gold and Silver

Craig MacLEAN Terry beat Ross EDGAR 2-0 (10.846 & 11.015)

Women’s Points Race Race

Kate Cullen (City of Edinburgh RC) dominated the women’s Scratch Race, winning six out of the 12 sprints to finish 20 points ahead of Silver medallist, Alex Greenfield (Cardiff Ajax). Alex’s Cardiff team mate Katie Curis took the Bronze after over 43 minutes of incredibly testing racing.

Time 43 mins 31 secs

1. Kate CULLEN City of Edinburgh RC 38pts
2. Alexandra GREENFIELD Cardiff Ajax CC 18pts
3. Katie CURTIS Cardiff Ajax CC 17pts
4. Elizabeth ARMITSTEAD Raleigh ERV 12pts
5. Joanna ROWSELL VC Londres 11pts
6. Nikki HARRIS 8pts
7. Becki RIMMINGTON Melton Olympic CC 8pts
8. Carrie BEDINGFIELD Team Luciano-Kuota 5pts
9. Jo TINDLEY VC Londres 5pts
10. Femke VAN SCHELVEN Fat Birds UK 1pt

Disability Championships Pursuit


Sarah Bailey took a well deserved Gold for this event. After deciding to focus on her Cycling in the last year as opposed to her back ground in Swimming Sarah is on excellent form on the bike and put in a number of top rides this week.

Pursuit (calculated on percentage of target time, which is world’s best for category)

1. Sarah BAILEY VC St Raphael 3.54.513 ((target time 3.51.67 – 98.788)
2. Darren KENNY Arctic-Shorter-Rochford RT 3.53.271 (target time 3.42.65 – 95.447)
3. Zoe MARUSIAK BC Private Member 5.18.233 (target time 4.15.92 – 80.419)

Men’s 20kms Scratch Race

Chris Newton (, Kieran Page (AVC Aix-En-Provence) and Ian Stannard ( rode a hard race to take the podium spots after the Men’s Scratch. After covering the 20km distance in just 23m 51s it was the endurance in these men’s legs that paid off, keeping the pace consistently high throughout, leaving little opportunity for the sprinters to take it on the line.


1. Chris NEWTON
2. Kieran PAGE AVC Aix-En-Provence
4. Ed CLANCY Landbrouwkredit @ 1 lap
5. Jonathan BELLIS Glendene CC
6. Peter KENNAUGH Glendene CC
7. Malcolm ELLIOTT Plowman Craven RT
9. Steven BURKE Le Coq Sportif-Dolan-SIS @2 laps
10. Adam BLYTHE Pinerello RT
11. Geraint THOMAS
12. Ben SWIFT
13. Tom SMITH Plowman Craven RT
14. James McCALLUM The
15. Luke ROWE Glendene CC
16. Russell HAMPTON Glendene CC

More reports and photos to follow later in the week.


Newsletter Terms & Conditions

Please enter your email so we can keep you updated with news, features and the latest offers. If you are not interested you can unsubscribe at any time. We will never sell your data and you'll only get messages from us and our partners whose products and services we think you'll enjoy.

Read our full Privacy Policy as well as Terms & Conditions.