Stage 12 won by Di Luca - Road Cycling UK

Expert road bike reviews and the latest road bike news, features and advice. Find rides & events, training articles and participate in our forums


Racing News

Stage 12 won by Di Luca

Danilo Di Luca wins at Briançon

Impressive views everywhere you look

Danilo Di Luca descending shadowed by Andy Schleck

On a 163km stage with the Giro’s biggest climb, the 2744m Colle dell-Agnello and the Col d’Izoard, Di Luca held off all comers to slip back into the pink jersey which he has been surely missing the last few days.

Previous Maglia Rosa wearer, Andrea Noe lost chunks of time on the first climb of the stage. Di Luca waited until the final kilometre before making his attack from a small group of riders, including Andy Schleck (CSC) and Gilberto Simoni (Saunier Duval-Prodir).

Talking after slipping on the pink jersey, Di Luca said: “I am satisfied with the way I’ve managed the breakaway. Attacking on the Izoard I managed to face in the front the descent towards Briançon. Tomorrow I will look for a further lead in view of the third week”.

Stage 12 Results

  • 1 Danilo Di Luca (Ita) Liquigas 4.46.39 (34.118km/h)
  • 2 Gilberto Simoni (Ita) Saunier Duval – Prodir
  • 3 Andy Schleck (Lux) Team CSC 0.07
  • 4 Eddy Mazzoleni (Ita) Astana 0.15
  • 5 Damiano Cunego (Ita) Lampre – Fondital 0.19
  • 6 Stefano Garzelli (Ita) Acqua & Sapone – Caffe Mokambo 2.17
  • 7 Yoann Le Boulanger (Fra) Bouygues Telecom 2.33
  • 8 Marzio Bruseghin (Ita) Lampre – Fondital
  • 9 Riccardo Ricco (Ita) Saunier Duval – Prodir
  • 10 Franco Pellizotti (Ita) Liquigas 2.38

    General Classification

  • 1 Danilo Di Luca (Ita) Liquigas 56.42.25
  • 2 Marzio Bruseghin (Ita) Lampre – Fondital 1.03
  • 3 David Arroyo Duran (Spa) Caisse d’Epargne 1.16
  • 4 Andy Schleck (Lux) Team CSC 1.25
  • 5 Francisco Javier Vila Errandonea (Spa) Lampre – Fondital 1.39
  • 6 Damiano Cunego (Ita) Lampre – Fondital 2.10
  • 7 Emanuele Sella (Ita) Ceramica Panaria – Navigare 2.14
  • 8 Gilberto Simoni (Ita) Saunier Duval – Prodir 2.34
  • 9 Evgeni Petrov (Rus) Tinkoff Credit System 2.48
  • 10 Eddy Mazzoleni (Ita) Astana 3.28
  • Share

    Newsletter Terms & Conditions

    Please enter your email so we can keep you updated with news, features and the latest offers. If you are not interested you can unsubscribe at any time. We will never sell your data and you'll only get messages from us and our partners whose products and services we think you'll enjoy.

    Read our full Privacy Policy as well as Terms & Conditions.