Racing News

Tiernan-Locke named on World Championship long list

Jon Tiernan-Locke is the stand-out name on British Cycling’s long list for the UCI Road World Championships in Limburg, Holland, on September 15-23.

Jon Tiernan-Locke, seen here riding to victory in the 2012 Haut Var, is on the World Championship long list

Endura Racing’s Tiernan-Locke, the only rider on the 14-strong men’s long list who doesn’t ride for a WorldTour team, has struck a number of victories in 2012 on lumpy terrain similar to that of the World Championship course.

Otherwise Team Sky dominate the list with ten riders, including Bradley Wiggins, Chris Froome, Mark Cavendish and Geraint Thomas, with BMC Racing duo Adam Blythe and Steve Cummings, and Omega Pharma-QuickStep neo-pro Andy Fenn completing the provisional squad, from which nine riders will be selected.

Tour de France champion Wiggins will not ride the time trial, with two from British champion Dowsett, Tour de France runner-up Froome and double Olympic team pursuit gold medallist Geraint Thomas to contest the race.

“Once again we find ourselves in a very fortunate position of having a strong pool of riders across the board from which we can select the final team nearer the time,” said British Cycling performance director Dave Brailsford.

“Brad has opted out of riding the time trial at the worlds; this year’s focus for him has been fully on the Tour de France and the Olympics, so to expect him to hold form going into the worlds is a big ask.”

Double Olympic gold medallist Laura Trott could swap the track for the road after being named on the road race long list, with Lizzie Armitstead, who won silver in the London 2012 road race, also among the 12 riders named, of which seven will make the final cut.

Newly-crowned British time trial champion Wendy Houvenaghel is joined by Sharon Laws, Emma Pooley and Julia Shaw on the women’s time trial long list, with two of the four to start.

Elite men – road race (nine to start)

Adam Blythe
Mark Cavendish
Steve Cummings
Alex Dowsett=
Andy Fenn
Chris Froome
Peter Kennaugh
Jeremy Hunt
Luke Rowe
Ian Stannard
Ben Swift
Jon Tiernan-Locke
Geraint Thomas
Bradley Wiggins

Elite men – time trial (two to start)

Alex Dowsett
Chris Froome
Geraint Thomas

Elite women – road race (seven to start)

Lizzie Armitstead
Hannah Barnes
Katie Colclough
Nicole Cooke
Catherine Hare
Nikki Harris
Dani King
Sharon Laws
Emma Pooley
Joanna Rowsell
Emma Trott
Laura Trott

Elite women – time trial (two to start)

Wendy Houvenaghel
Sharon Laws
Emma Pooley
Julia Shaw

Under-23 men – road race (three to start)

Mike Cuming
Josh Edmondson
Richard Handley
Ali Slater
Scott Thwaites
Simon Yates

Under-23 men – time trial (two to start)

George Atkins
Sam Harrison
Joe Perrett

Junior men – road race (six to start)

Germain Burton
Hugh Carthy
Jon Dibben
Tao Geoghegan Hart
Ed Laverack
Chris Lawless
Chris Latham
Sam Lowe
Harry Tanfield
Alex Peters
Will Stephenson
Oliver Wood

Junior men – time trial (two to start)

Jon Dibben
Tao Geoghegan Hart

Junior women – road race (five to start)

Elinor Barker
Lucy Garner
Emily Kay
Amy Roberts
Jessie Walker
Molly Weaver 

Junior women – time trial (two to start)

Elinor Barker
Amy Roberts


Newsletter Terms & Conditions

Please enter your email so we can keep you updated with news, features and the latest offers. If you are not interested you can unsubscribe at any time. We will never sell your data and you'll only get messages from us and our partners whose products and services we think you'll enjoy.

Read our full Privacy Policy as well as Terms & Conditions.