Daniel Moreno wins stage nine of 2013 Vuelta a Espana to take overall lead

Daniel Moreno (Katusha) won stage nine of the 2013 Vuelta a Espana to move into the overall lead.

The 31-year-old tamed the kilometre-long final climb, which peaked at a gradient of 30 per cent, to win the stage by four seconds ahead of Alejandro Valverde (Movistar) and Katusha team-mate Joaquim Rodriguez.

Daniel Moreno (Katusha) tamed the super-steed final climb to win stage nine

The victory was Moreno’s second of the race after the 31-year-old previously triumphed on stage four and the Spaniard now holds a one-second advantage over Nicolas Roche (Saxo-Tinkoff) at the top of the general classification.

Team Sky’s Luke Rowe, who is making his Grand Tour debut at the Vuelta, was in the day’s five-man break but the group was reeled in with 25km of the 163.7km stage remaining.

Rowe’s team-mate, Edvald Boasson Hagen, then launched an attack close to the top of the category two Alto de los Frailes but failed to open up a big enough gap on the descent and was caught ahead of the final climb.

Victory also saw the Spaniard move into the overall lead

Moreno was first to show his hand on the super-steed ascent and rode away from his rivals to claim the double prize of a stage win and the leader’s jersey.

Roche went into the day with a 17-second advantage over Moreno and while the Irishman finished within eight seconds of the stage winner in fourth place, Moreno picked up a ten-second time bonus for the victory to relegate the Saxo-Tinkoff rider to second overall.

Discuss in the forum

Vuelta a Espana 2013: stage eight – result

1) Daniel Moreno (SPA) – Katusha – 4:18:57 hours
2) Alejandro Valverde (SPA) – Movistar +4″
3) Joaquim Rodriguez (SPA) – Katusha – same time
4) Nicolas Roche (IRL) – Saxo-Tinkoff +8″
5) Samuel Sanchez (SPA) – Euskaltel-Euskadi +9″
6) Rinaldo Nocentini (ITA) – Ag2r La Mondiale – same time
7) Vincenzo Nibali (ITA) – Astana
8) Philippe Gilbert (BEL) – BMC Racing +13″
9) Warren Barguil (FRA) – Argos-Shimano – same time
10) Igor Anton (SPA) – Euskaltel-Euskadi +15″

General classification

1) Daniel Moreno (SPA) – Katusha 35:58:34 hours
2) Nicolas Roche (IRL) – Saxo-Tinkoff +1″
3) Vincenzo Nibali (ITA) – Astana +20″
4) Alejandro Valverde (Spa) – Movistar +22″
5) Chris Horner (USA) – Radioshack-Leopard +28″
6) Joaquim Rodriguez (SPA) Katusha +56″
7) Leopold Konig (CZE) – NetApp-Endura +1’09”
8) Haimar Zubeldia (SPA) – Radioshack-Leopard +1’10”
9) Rigoberto Uran (COL) – Team Sky +1’24”
10) Ivan Santaromita (ITA) – BMC Racing +1’25”

Newsletter Terms & Conditions

Please enter your email so we can keep you updated with news, features and the latest offers. If you are not interested you can unsubscribe at any time. We will never sell your data and you'll only get messages from us and our partners whose products and services we think you'll enjoy.

Read our full Privacy Policy as well as Terms & Conditions.