Team Sky head strong list of teams set for 2015 Tour of Britain

Expert road bike reviews and the latest road bike news, features and advice. Find rides & events, training articles and participate in our forums



Team Sky head strong list of teams set for 2015 Tour of Britain

Ten Tour de France teams selected for Britain's premier stage race

Team Sky are one of ten Tour de France teams set for the 2015 Tour of Britain, after organisers revealed the line-up for this year’s 2.HC-rated race.

Winners in 2013 through Sir Bradley Wiggins, Sky headline the list of 20 six-man teams set for the Anglesey startline on Sunday September 6.

Defending champion Dylan van Baarle’s Cannondale-Garmin team are also selected, alongside Etixx-QuickStep, Movistar, BMC Racing and Tinkoff-Saxo.

Nine WorldTour teams will line-up in Beaumaris for the 2015 Tour of Britain, won last year by Dylan van Baarle (pic: Sirotti)

LottoNL-Jumbo, Lotto-Soudal and IAM Cycling complete the list of WorldTour teams, while African UCI ProContinental team MTN-Qhubeka were also in Tour de France action – Britain’s Steve Cummings bagging a stage win for them.

Race director Mick Bennett believes the depth of talent set to be on show is unprecedented in the race’s history, sayig: “This is undoubtedly the strongest line-up of teams to have appeared in the Aviva Tour of Britain.

“The Aviva Tour of Britain presents a fantastic opportunity for British fans to see what will be the best line-up of teams and riders to race in this country this year.

“In 2014 we saw Michal Kwiatkowski, Sir Bradley Wiggins and the BMC Racing Team all go on to win World titles immediately after the race and are sure this year’s Tour will provide an equal platform for riders going on to target the World Championships.”

All six of Britain’s UCI Continental teams have also been selected, meaning Tour of Britain debuts for One Pro Cycling and Team WIGGINS.

Raleigh-GAC, JLT-Condor, NFTO Pro Cycling and Pearl Izumi Tour Series champions Madison-Genesis will also be in action, alongside a Great Britain national team and Irish outfit An Post-Chain Reaction.

Team Novo Nordisk, the world’s first all-diabetic pro cycling team, return after making their debut in 2014 and Russ Downing’s Cult Energy complete the 20-team line-up.

Tour of Britain 2015: teams

BMC Racing (USA)
Etixx-QuickStep (BEL)
IAM Cycling (SUI)
Lotto-Soudal (BEL)
Movistar (ESP)
Cannondale-Garmin (USA)
LottoNL-Jumbo (NED)
Team Sky (GBR)
Tinkoff-Saxo (RUS)

Cult Energy Pro Cycling (DEN)
MTN-Qhubeka (RSA)
Team Novo Nordisk (USA)

UCI Continental
An Post-Chain Reaction (IRL)
JLT-Condor (GBR)
Madison-Genesis (GBR)
ONE Pro Cycling (GBR)
Team Raleigh-GAC (GBR)

National teams
Great Britain (GBR)


Newsletter Terms & Conditions

Please enter your email so we can keep you updated with news, features and the latest offers. If you are not interested you can unsubscribe at any time. We will never sell your data and you'll only get messages from us and our partners whose products and services we think you'll enjoy.

Read our full Privacy Policy as well as Terms & Conditions.