Road Cycling News

Hope Technology win opening round of Rapha Super Cross

Team captain and national champion Paul Oldham led his Hope Technology team to victory in the opening round of the Rapha Super Cross at a sun-soaked Windermere.

Paul Oldham powers up a climb

Oldham powered away in the opening lap to take the prime, only to judder to a halt with a lengthy mechanical soon after.

But the backing of team-mates Dave Collins and Dan Booth proved sufficient to hold off the challenge of the Scott trio of Nick Craig, Kenta Gallagher and Luke Grivell-Mellor.

Former national champion Jody Crawforth (Hargroves) and Lee Williams (Wiggle) slugged it out for the top position before Williams pulled away in the closing stages for a surprise individual win.

Fourth-placed Rob Watson, riding for Rapha/GB Development, took the under-23 prize and wears the competition leader’s jersey going into the second and penultimate round at Huddersfield today (Sunday October 16). The Rapha Super Cross finale takes place at London’s Alexandra Palace on Sunday October 23.


1. Hope Technology
2. Scott UK
3. Rapha/GB Development
4. Wiggle
5. Hargroves/Specialized
6. Wheelbase
7. Sigma Sport/Specialized
8. Charge

1. Lee Williams (Wiggle)
2. Jody Crawforth (Hargroves)
3. Paul Oldham (Hope)
4. Rob Watson (Rapha/GB)
5. Dave Collins (Hope)
6. Dan Booth (Hope)
7. Kenta Gallagher (Scott)
8. Luke Grivell-Mellor (Scott)
9. Nick Craig (Scott)
10. Joe Moses (Rapha/GB)

1. Rob Watson (Rapha/GB)

Photo gallery

© All photos copyright of Wig Worland

Newsletter Terms & Conditions

Please enter your email so we can keep you updated with news, features and the latest offers. If you are not interested you can unsubscribe at any time. We will never sell your data and you'll only get messages from us and our partners whose products and services we think you'll enjoy.

Read our full Privacy Policy as well as Terms & Conditions.