Lincoln GP - 7th May - Road Cycling UK

Expert road bike reviews and the latest road bike news, features and advice. Find rides & events, training articles and participate in our forums


Racing News

Lincoln GP – 7th May

Lincoln GP map

The Course in detail

The riders start from the Yarborough Sports Centre at 11.45 am and leave via the cycle track and Breedon Drive to join the circuit on Burton Road.

They then leave the City to Burton Village and descend Burton Hill to Fen Lane and the A57 where they turn left towards Lincoln.

At the old Racecourse they turn left in to Long Leys Road to climb to Yarborough Road and a right turn to take them into West Parade.

They then cross in to Motherby Lane, turn left in to Hungate to start the tortuous 1 in 6 cobbled climb of Michaelgate.

This leads them through to Wordsworth Street and a right turn in to Drury Lane and through Castle Square where the finish will take place after the 11th climb of Michaelgate.

The circuit is completed by continuing in to Bailgate and Newport, turning left in to Yarborough Crescent and right in to Burton Road.

The Grand Prix covers 11 laps of the circuit to finish in Castle Square at approximately 3.00 pm.


1956 Bob Eastwood Huddersfield Road Club
1957 Ron Coe Wilson Cycles
1958 Ron Coe Elswick Hopper
1959 Ron Coe Elswick Hopper
1960 John Perks Falcon Cycles
1961 John Perks Falcon Cycles
1962 Jim Grieves Helyett Cycles
1963 Albert Hitchen Viking Cycles
1964 Albert Hitchen Falcon Cycles
1965 Arthur Durham England
1966 John Clarey Woolwich Cycling Club
1967 Des Thompson New Zealand
1968 Doug Dailey Kirkby Cycling Club
1969 Pete Smith Clifton Cycling Club
1970 Tom Mullins Rockingham Cycling Club
1971 Dave Allen Birkenhead North End CC
1972 Phil Edwards Western Road Club
1973 Dave Vose Kirkby Cycling Club
1974 Steve Heffernan Archer Road Club
1975 Tony Gornall Clayton Velo
1976 Bill Nickson East Liverpool Wheelers
1977 Dave Cuming Kirkby Cycling Club
1978 Steve Lawrence VC Olympia Sport
1979 Geoff Taylor Liverpool Century
1980 Steve Joughin Manchester Wheelers
1981 Phil Thomas Liverpool Mercury
1982 Mark Bell Manchester Wheelers
1983 Malcolm Elliott Manchester Wheelers
1984 Neil Martin Angliasport
1985 Darryl Webster Manchester Wheelers
1986 Paul Curran Manchester Wheelers
1987 Paul Curran Manchester Wheelers
1988 Paul Curran Manchester Wheelers
1989 Mark Gornall Manchester Wheelers
1990 Brian Smith Velo Club d’Or
1991 Paul Curran Manchester Wheelers
1992 John Charlesworth Ace Racing Team
1993 Keith Reynolds Banana Energy Fruit
1994 Chris Walker Lex – Townsend
1995 Mark Walsham Tritech
1996 Kevin Dawson Optimum Performance
1997 John Tanner Controlware
1998 Chris Lillywhite Harrods
1999 Saulius Ruskis Team Oktos – MBK (France)
2000 Chris Newton Middridge Cycle Racing Team
2001 John Tanner Ribble – Pro Vision
2002 Huw Pritchard Angliasport
2003 Mark Lovatt Life Repair CRT
2004 David O’Loughlin Total Cycling (Ireland)
2005 Russell Downing


Newsletter Terms & Conditions

Please enter your email so we can keep you updated with news, features and the latest offers. If you are not interested you can unsubscribe at any time. We will never sell your data and you'll only get messages from us and our partners whose products and services we think you'll enjoy.

Read our full Privacy Policy as well as Terms & Conditions.