Great Britain 'in good shape' for 2016 according to Sir Dave Brailsford as 2013/14 squad named

Expert road bike reviews and the latest road bike news, features and advice. Find rides & events, training articles and participate in our forums



Great Britain ‘in good shape’ for 2016 according to Sir Dave Brailsford as 2013/14 squad named

Sprinter Ross Edgar switches to endurance squad; new Paralympic Development Programme announced

Sir Dave Brailsford believes Great Britain are in a good position as they build towards Rio 2016 after British Cycling announced their squad for the 2013/14 funding year.

In the first year post-London 2012, Great Britain have enjoyed a successful transitional period which saw five new world champions crowned: Welsh sprint queen Becky James, team pursuit star Elinor Barker, Tour of Britain stage winner Simon Yates, BMX ace Liam Phillips and para-cyclist Lora Turnham, piloted by Corinne Hall.

British Cycling performance manager Sir Dave Brailsford believes Great Britain are on target for the 2016 Olympic Games (Pic: Vaughn Ridley/

And performance manager Brailsford believes the squad is in good shape as they bid to recreate their London success in Rio in three years time.

He said: “I believe we have a strong squad to take us into the second year of this Olympic cycle.

“In all, I think we’re looking to be in good shape for this stage of the Olympic cycle. We have a real depth of talent in the academy and development programme and I’m looking forward to seeing how they can develop and deliver over the coming twelve months.”

Among the riders named, former sprinter Ross Edgar has switched to the endurance squad having spent last season competing on the road with IG Sigma Sport – who announced this week they will not race next year.

Brailsford will watch with interest to see how Scottish star Edgar – who won a silver medal in the keirin behind Sir Chris Hoy at the Beijing Olympic Games – will develop in his new role.

Mark Cavendish, Sir Bradley Wiggins, Chris Froome and Geraint Thomas are also included in a star-studded squad, while former heptathlete Katy Marchant and junior track star Danni Khan are among the new faces on the programme having joined the sprint squads.

Meanwhile, promising talent Tao Geoghagen Hart, who will ride for the Bissell development team in 2014, has left the programme, although Brailsford insists he will keep “a close eye on him”.

The review of the British Cycling Olympic programmes is in line with the UK Sport funding structure and also sees the inclusion of a new Paralympic Development Programme for upcoming para-cyclist.

Elinor Barker, second right, was one of five new world champions crowned in 2013 as the women’s team pursuit squad continued their domination of the discipline (Pic: Alex Whitehead/

Brailsford added: “This is a great step forward for para-cycling in Britain as we now have a process in place to identify and progress disabled athletes with a talent for cycling.”

Discuss in the forum

Pictures supplied with kind permission of

Great Britain cycling team squad for 2013/14

Olympic podium programme

Men’s sprint
Matt Crampton
Kian Emadi
Phil Hindes
Jason Kenny
Lewis Oliva
Callum Skinner

Women’s sprint:
Becky James
Katy Marchant
Jess Varnish
Vicky Williamson

Men’s endurance
Steven Burke
Mark Cavendish
Ed Clancy
Steve Cummings
Jon Dibben
Alex Dowsett
Ross Edgar
Josh Edmondson
Andy Fenn
Chris Froome
Sam Harrison
Pete Kennaugh
Luke Rowe
Ian Stannard
Ben Swift
Andy Tennant
Geraint Thomas
Sir Bradley Wiggins
Adam Yates
Simon Yates

Women’s endurance
Lizzie Armitstead
Elinor Barker
Dani King
Joanna Rowsell
Laura Trott

Men’s BMX
Liam Phillips

Women’s Cross Country Mountain Bike
Annie Last

Olympic academy programme

Men’s sprint
Matt Rotherham

Women’s sprint
Rosie Blount
Danni Khan

Women’s endurance
Katie Archibald
Lucy Garner
Amy Hill
Hayley Jones
Emily Kay
Amy Roberts

Men’s endurance
Germain Burton
Owain Doull
Chris Latham
Chris Lawless
Jacob Ragan
Oliver Wood

Men’s BMX
Kyle Evans
Grant Hill
Curtis Manaton
Tre Whyte

Women’s BMX
Charlotte Green
Abbie Taylor

Men’s Cross Country Mountain Bike
Kenta Gallagher
Grant Ferguson

Women’s Cross Country Mountain Bike
Alice Barnes
Bethany Crumpton

Olympic development programme

Men’s endurance
Matthew Bostock
Gabriel Cullaigh
Joe Evans
Joseph Fry
Matthew Gibson
Joe Holt
Ellis Kirkbride

Women’s endurance
Megan Barker
Abigail Dentus
Grace Garner
Bethany Hayward
Melissa Lowther
Emily Nelson
Abby-Mae Parkinson
Lucy Shaw

Men’s sprint
Leon Gledhill
Thomas Scammell
Joseph Truman

Women’s sprint
Sophie Capewell

Men’s BMX
Quillan Isidore
Paddy Sharrock
Ryan Stack

Women’s BMX
Valerie Zebrokova

Men’s Cross Country Mountain Bike
Frazer Clacherty
Thomas Craig
Dylan Kerfoot Robson
Mark McGuire
Calum Moagowan

Women’s Cross Country Mountain Bike
Martha Gill
Ffion James

Paralympic programmes

Paralympic Podium Programme
Jon Allan Butterworth
Jody Cundy
Karen Darke
Neil Fachie
Corinne Hall
Rachel James
Darren Kenny
Crystal Lane
Craig MacLean
Shaun McKeown
Pete Mitchell
Rachel Morris
Jason Queally
Helen Scott
David Stone
Dame Sarah Storey
Lauryn Therin
Lora Turnham

Paralympic Academy Programme
Brian Alldis
Rhiannon Henry
Simon Price
Sophie Thornhill

Paralympic Development Programme
Steve Arnold
Megan Boyd
Justin Davies
Matt Ellis
Andy Kelsey
Jaco van Gass
Jonathan Wren


Newsletter Terms & Conditions

Please enter your email so we can keep you updated with news, features and the latest offers. If you are not interested you can unsubscribe at any time. We will never sell your data and you'll only get messages from us and our partners whose products and services we think you'll enjoy.

Read our full Privacy Policy as well as Terms & Conditions.