Fabian Cancellara fires warning shot ahead of worlds with Vuelta a Espana time trial victory

Expert road bike reviews and the latest road bike news, features and advice. Find rides & events, training articles and participate in our forums



Fabian Cancellara fires warning shot ahead of World Championships with Vuelta a Espana time trial victory

Fabian Cancellara (Radioshack-Leopard) fired a warning shot to his rivals for the World Championship title with victory in the Vuelta a Espana‘s stage 11 individual time trial.

Cancellara clocked 51 minutes over the 38.8km course to beat Tony Martin (Omega Pharma-QuickStep) to the stage win by 37 seconds.

Fabian Cancellara powers to time trial victory

Cancellara, Martin and Bradley Wiggins (Team Sky), who is to ride the Tour of Britain, are set to go head-to-head for the world time trial title in Florence on Wednesday September 25.

Meanwhile, Giro d’Italia champion Vincenzo Nibali (Astana) regained the race lead after finishing fourth on the hilly course, one minute and 27 seconds behind Cancellara. Previous race leader Chris Horner (Radioshack-Leopard) finished 20th on the stage to drop to fourth overall.

Vincenzo Nibali finished fourth on the stage to regain the race lead

Cancellara said: “I’m happy that is over. It was a very hard parcours that was not perfect for a specialist, but I said to myself that I needed to do my race at my own pace and just find the right rhythm for myself.

“I know that I gave the maximum,” said Cancellara. “This was a good test for myself that had nothing to do with my competitors and more about seeing how I’m feeling. It was both uphill and then downhill and required a good workout.  I’m happy with my performance.”

Vuelta a Espana 2013: stage 11 – result

1) Fabian Cancellara (SWI) – Radioshack-Leopard – 51’00”
2) Tony Martin (GER) – Omega Pharma-QuickStep +37″
3) Domenico Pozzovivo (ITA) – Ag2r La Mondiale +1’24”
4) Vincenzo Nibali (ITA) – Astana +1’25”
5) Dario Cataldo (ITA) – Team Sky +1’41”
6) Nicolas Roche (IRL) – Saxo-Tinkoff +1’48”
7) Alejandro Valverde (SPA) – Movistar +1’52”
8) Jerome Coppel (FRA) – Cofidis – same time
9) Janez Brajkovic (SLO) – Astana +1’53”
10) Samuel Sanchez (SPA) – Euskaltel-Euskadi +2’13”

General classification

1) Vincenzo Nibali (ITA) – Astana – 41:22:22 hours
2) Nicolas Roche (IRL) – Saxo-Tinkoff +33″
3) Alejandro Valverde (SPA) – Movistar +46″
4) Chris Horner (USA) – Radioshack-Leopard – same time
5) Joaquim Rodriguez (SPA) – Katusha +2’33”
6) Domenico Pozzovivo (ITA) – Ag2r La Mondiale +2’44”
7) Ivan Basso (ITA) – Cannondale +2’55”
8) Thibaut Pinot (FRA) – FDJ +3’35”
9) Rafal Majka (POL) – Saxo-Tinkoff +3’46”
10) Daniel Moreno (SPA) – Katusha +3’56”


Newsletter Terms & Conditions

Please enter your email so we can keep you updated with news, features and the latest offers. If you are not interested you can unsubscribe at any time. We will never sell your data and you'll only get messages from us and our partners whose products and services we think you'll enjoy.

Read our full Privacy Policy as well as Terms & Conditions.