Tour de France 2016: Jarlinson Pantano wins stage 15 as Chris Froome retains lead

Yellow jersey untroubled as breakaway succeeds in Jura mountains

Jarlinson Panton (IAM Cycling) outsprinted Rafal Majka (Tinkoff) to win stage 15 of the 2016 Tour de France, as Chris Froome (Team Sky) retained his overall advantage in the yellow jersey.

On a stage packed with climbing, there was little drama for the GC men as the breakaway contested the stage – Pantano and Majka the last two survivors from a 30-strong group.

Tinkoff’s Polish champion made his move as they crested the Lacets du Grand Colombier but Colombian Pantano bridged back across on the descent and won a two-up sprint.

Majka’s consolation was the reclaiming of the polka dot jersey, which he won in 2014 too, and he now holds a 37-point advantage over second-placed Thomas de Gendt (Lotto-Soudal).

Froome, meanwhile, was safely in the peloton with none of his GC rivals able to make a move on a stage which packed in six categorised climbs in all.

Jarlinson Pantano won his and his team’s first Tour de France stage (pic: Sirotti)

De Gendt had been aggressive from the start in the polka dot jersey, but paid for his efforts on Mont Ventoux a few days earlier and did not make the decisive split, whereas Majka did.

Serge Pauwels (Dimension Data) and Daniel Navarro (Cofidis), second and third at Chalet Reynard, were also in the break, as was double stage winner Tom Dumoulin (Giant-Alpecin) and Astana’s Giro d’Italia champion Vincenzo Nibali among many others.

Sebastien Reichenbach (FDJ) was the best-placed rider overall, having started the day 11.41 in arrears in 17th place, but the peloton was relaxed about letting the big group go clear.

Majka went to work bagging the mountain points – finishing second behind Thomas Voeckler (Direct Energie) and Pauwels on the Col du Sappel and Col de Pisseloup respectively.

On the HC-climb of the Grand Colombier, the large breakaway was blown apart, however – Dylan van Baarle (Cannondale) upping the ante, before Nibali and Dumoulin launched their own counter-attacks.

By the time the group crested the climb, however, only Majka, Pantano and Ilnur Zakarin (Katusha) remained, and that was down to two as Zakarin’s cautious descent put paid to his hopes.

In the GC group, Wout Poels did the donkey work for Team Sky, repeatedly pulling back any moves as they approached the final climb of the Lacets du Grand Colombier – despite a puncture forcing Geraint Thomas out the back of that group.

Romain Bardet (Ag2r-La Mondiale) put in a dig as the summit approached, but alive to his fearless descending, Poels shut the door again – the Frenchman’s acceleration only succeeding in putting Tejay van Garderen in trouble.

Up front, Majka attacked over the top but a mistake on the descent – which forced him, though still upright, onto the grass, allowed Pantano back in.

Majka opened up his sprint first, but Pantano kicked hardest to take victory – his and IAM Cycling’s first at the Tour de France.

Chris Froome was largely untroubled in the GC group as Team Sky retained control (pic: Sirotti)

Poels led the GC group home a little more than three minutes later – Froome on his wheel and Nairo Quintana (Movistar), again strangely subdued, behind the yellow jersey.

It means Froome still leads by 1’47” over Bauke Mollema (Trek-Segafredo), with fellow Brit Adam Yates (Orica-BikeExchange) third at 2’45” and in the white jersey.

Tour de France 2016: stage 15 – result

1) Jarlinson Pantano (COL) – IAM Cycling – 4.24.49hrs
2) Rafal Majka (POL) – Tinkoff – ST
3) Alexis Vuillermoz (FRA) – Ag2r-La Mondiale +6”
4) Sebastien Reichenbach (SUI) – FDJ – ST
5) Julian Alaphilippe (FRA) – Etixx-QuickStep +22”
6) Serge Pauwels (BEL) – Dimension Data +25”
7) Pierre Rolland (FRA) – Cannondale – ST
8) Ilnur Zakarin (RUS) – Katusha +1.30
9) Daniel Navarro (ESP) – Cofidis – ST
10) Tom-Jelte Slagter (NED) – Cannondale +2.08

General classification

1) Chris Froome (GBR) – Team Sky – 68.14.36hrs
2) Bauke Mollema (NED) – Trek-Segafredo +1.47
3) Adam Yates (GBR) – Orica-BikeExchange +2.45
4) Nairo Quintana (COL) – Movistar +2.59
5) Alejandro Valverde (ESP) – Movistar +3.17
6) Romain Bardet (FRA) – Ag2r-La Mondiale +4.04
7) Richie Porte (AUS) – BMC Racing +4.27
8) Tejay van Garderen (USA) – BMC Racing +4.47
9) Daniel Martin (IRL) – Etixx-QuickStep +5.03
10) Fabio Aru (ITA) – Astana +5.16

Sponsored by


Newsletter Terms & Conditions

Please enter your email so we can keep you updated with news, features and the latest offers. If you are not interested you can unsubscribe at any time. We will never sell your data and you'll only get messages from us and our partners whose products and services we think you'll enjoy.

Read our full Privacy Policy as well as Terms & Conditions.