Racing News

Tour de France winners in pictures


PERFECT TIMING: Cadel Evans, wearing the yellow jersey for the first time in the race, is escorted into Paris by his BMC team-mates

WINNING IN STYLE: Mark Cavendish secures the green jersey with victory on the Champs Elysees

RAW EMOTION: Cadel Evans fights back the tears after being crowned Tour de France champion

SO CLOSE: Andy Schleck (left) comes second for the third successive year, while brother Frank (right) registers his best finish in third

SPRINT KING: Mark Cavendish is the first Briton to win the Tour’s green jersey

POLKA DOT: Olympic champion Samuel Sanchez is crowned King of the Mountains

BEST YOUNG RIDER: Pierre Rolland moved into the yellow jersey after winning stage 19 to Alpe d’Huez

CHAMPIONS: The 2011 Tour de France jersey winners celebrate as one

TOP DOGS: Garmin-Cervelo, with a cardboard cut-out of Dave Zabriskie, who crashed out on stage nine, pick up the team prize

General classification

1. Cadel Evans (AUS/BMC Racing) 86h 12m 22s
2. Andy Schleck (LUX/Leopard-Trek) +1’34″
3. Frank Schleck (LUX/Leopard-Trek) +2’30″
4. Thomas Voeckler (FRA/Europcar) +3’20″
5. Alberto Contador (SPA/SaxoBank Sungard) +3’57″
6. Samuel Sanchez (SPA/Euskaltel-Euskadi) +4’55″
7. Damiano Cunego (ITA/Lampre-ISD) +6’05″
8. Ivan Basso (ITA/Liquigas-Cannondale) +7’23″
9. Thomas Danielson (USA/Garmin-Cervelo) +8’15″
10. Jean-Christophe Peraud (FRA/Agr2 La Mondiale) +10’11″

31. Geraint Thomas (GBR/Team Sky) +1:00:48
76. David Millar (GBR/Garmin-Cervelo) +2:14.56
130. Mark Cavendish (GBR/HTC-Highroad) +3:15.05
137. Ben Swift (GBR/Team Sky) +3:18.07

Points classification

1. Mark Cavendish (GBR/HTC-Highroad) 334 points
2. Jose Joaquin Rojas (SPA/Movistar) 272
3. Philippe Gilbert (BEL/Omega Pharma-Lotto) 236

Best young rider (aged 25 and under)

1. Pierre Rolland (FRA/Europcar) 86h 23m 05
2. Rein Taaramae (EST/Cofidis) +46″
3. Jerome Coppel (FRA/Saur-Sojasun) +7’53″

7. Geraint Thomas (GBR/Team Sky) +50’05″

King of the Mountains classification

1. Samuel Sanchez Gonzalez (SPA/Euskaltel-Euskadi) 108 points
2. Andy Schleck (LUX/Leopard-Trek) 98
3. Jelle Vanendert (BEL/Omega Pharma-Lotto) 74

Team classification

1. Garmin-Cervelo (USA) 258h 18m 49s
2. Leopard-Trek (LUX) +11’04”
3. Ag2r La Mondiale (FRA) +11’20”

Newsletter Terms & Conditions

Please enter your email so we can keep you updated with news, features and the latest offers. If you are not interested you can unsubscribe at any time. We will never sell your data and you'll only get messages from us and our partners whose products and services we think you'll enjoy.

Read our full Privacy Policy as well as Terms & Conditions.