Road Cycling News

Tirreno-Adriatico stage three: Boasson Hagen wins in Terni

Edvald Boasson Hagen continued the work begun yesterday by Mark Cavendish with a second win in consecutive days for Team Sky.

Edvald Boasson Hagen (Team Sky) wins in Terni

The Norwegian outsprinted Andre Greipel (Lotto-Belisol) and Peter Sagan (Liquigas-Cannondale) to win the 178km third stage from Indicatore to Terni.

Boasson Hagen said he took on the sprinter’s mantle with less than 10km to go after learning that Cavendish was feeling below par.

“The whole team did a good job to keep me up towards the front. The guys with me did great work in the last kilometre. I’m really happy to win and that we managed to get the victory.

“It was a long sprint but I went and I knew I had to go for it. I know that I’m pretty good at long sprints and I’ve done it before. You never know what the other guys will do but it worked out well,” he said.

Matt Goss remains in the blue leader’s jersey he assumed on stage one after being the first member of the victorious GreenEDGE team across the line in the team time trial.

After three flat stages, the profile of the race will change on stage four with a long and undulating stage from Amelia to Chieti.

His GreenEDGE directeur sportif, Matt White, said: “It’s a massive day tomorrow.”

“The guys who are unconcerned with the overall will call it a good training day. It’s the longest day of the race at 252 kilometres, and there’s a big mountain at the finish. I’m interested to see how Cam Meyer goes. He’s in good condition and good position.”

Discuss in the forum

Tirreno-Adriatico stage three

1) Edvald Boasson Hagen (NOR) – Sky Procycling – 4:45.31 hours
2) André Greipel (GER) – Lotto Belisol Team
3) Peter Sagan (SVK) – Liquigas-Cannondale
4) Tyler Farrar (USA) – Garmin – Barracuda
5) Manuel Belletti (ITA) – AG2R La Mondiale
6) Matthew Harley Goss (AUS) – GreenEdge Cycling Team
7) Kenny Robert Van Hummel (NED) – Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team
8) Francisco Ventoso Alberdi (SPA) – Movistar Team
9) Elia Favilli (ITA) – Farnese Vini – Selle Italia
10) Wout Poels (NED) – Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team + 3”

General classification

1) Matthew Harley Goss (AUS) – GreenEdge Cycling Team – 11:36.44 hours
2) Stuart O’Grady (AUS) – GreenEdge Cycling Team + 3”
3) Cameron Meyer (AUS) – GreenEdge Cycling Team
4) Sebastian Langeveld (NED) – GreenEdge Cycling Team
5) Tyler Farrar (USA) – Garmin – Barracuda + 13”
6) Edvald Boasson Hagen (NOR) – Sky Procycling
7) Mark Cavendish (GBR) – Sky Procycling + 14”
8) Christopher Horner (USA) – RadioShack-Nissan + 20”
9) Daniele Bennati (ITA) – RadioShack-Nissan
10) Fabian Cancellara (SWI) – RadioShack-Nissan


Newsletter Terms & Conditions

Please enter your email so we can keep you updated with news, features and the latest offers. If you are not interested you can unsubscribe at any time. We will never sell your data and you'll only get messages from us and our partners whose products and services we think you'll enjoy.

Read our full Privacy Policy as well as Terms & Conditions.