The Prix de BPA International Stayers Race - Road Cycling UK

Expert road bike reviews and the latest road bike news, features and advice. Find rides & events, training articles and participate in our forums


Event News

The Prix de BPA International Stayers Race

It’s a leather and googles thing…

Good Friday will see the return of motor pacing at Herne Hill, using the
mighty Triumph Thunderbird’s that are based at the track.

The legendary master motor pacer Bruno Walrave will travel to London to head
up a field of internationally acclaimed pacers in the Prix de BPA Stayers
race & will partner the British National Stayers Champion, Simon Cope
(Pacific RT). Other riders include Ronald Schur from Holland and Jan Richter, the German
stayers champion.

The motor paced Stayers race pits rider against rider, who use the
slipstream of a pacing Triumph Thunderbird to attempt to gain an advantage.
Riders will have to work hard to stay on the pace & you can feel the track
rumbling as they race by at fast speeds.

Stayers racing is huge on the continent and the Pacers are almost as famous
as the riders, many of whom play to the crowd & sport dashing mustaches to
set them apart.

Bruno WALRAVE (Holland) Simon COPE (Great Britain)
Current British National Stayers Champion

Wilfried KLUGE (Germany) Bryan TAYLOR (Great Britain)
British National Stayers Champion 1991, 1992
British National Derny Champion 2003<

Ronald ROL (Holland) Ronald SCHUR (Holland)
1st International Stayers GP Alkmaar Feb 2005
1st Stayersrace Amsterdam Nov 2004
1st International Stayersmeet Amsterdam Dec 2004

Sam MOOIJ (Holland) Patrick KOPS (Holland)
Netherlands National Stayers Champion 1999, 2001, 2002, 2003
Netherlands National Derny Champion 2004

Ronald ADELMAYER (Germany) Jan RICHTER (Germany)
German National Stayers Champion 2002
2nd German Nat. Stayers Championship 2003
1st Steher Cup Erfurt (Germany) 2004
2nd Steher Deutschland Cup Bielefeld

Manfred ADELMAYER (Germany) Thomas Schmidt (Germany)
1st Stayersrace Leipzig (Germany)
1st Stehermannschafts rennen Erfurt (Germany)
3rd Stayersrace Leipzig 2002
3rd Stayersrace Bielefeld 2002

Raymond PERSIJN (Belgium) Edwin SMEULDERS (Belgium)
1st Stayers GP Saint-Etienne (France) 2002
1st Stayers GP Hulshout (Belgium) 2003
1st Open Derny race Boom (Belgium) 2001/3

Online Tickets/Website:
Tickets will soon be available online and the new Good Friday website has gone live here


Newsletter Terms & Conditions

Please enter your email so we can keep you updated with news, features and the latest offers. If you are not interested you can unsubscribe at any time. We will never sell your data and you'll only get messages from us and our partners whose products and services we think you'll enjoy.

Read our full Privacy Policy as well as Terms & Conditions.